OverClocking ATI Radeon 9800 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-04-2004, 09:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 405
Send a message via AIM to BxSlipSk8718 Send a message via Yahoo to BxSlipSk8718
Default OverClocking ATI Radeon 9800

So yeah i got a powercolor ATI radeon 9800 one of the last of its kind now the VRAM has no heat sinks but i wanna over clock the whole thing to a PRO posibly any sugestions i have the ATI tool thingy should i wait till i put heat sinks on the ram or just go for it?
__________________

__________________
My Box :D

- Antec P180 Xcloid 450watt PSU
- DFI LANPARTY nF4 SLI-DR
- Amd 64 Venice Core 939 3000+
- AOpen 6800GT PCI-e Stock
- 1Gig (512x2) Geil Ultra 2-3-3-4
- 250gigx2 Raid 0 Striping SATAII 16mb cache

Is Gangsta
BxSlipSk8718 is offline  
Old 08-04-2004, 10:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 348
Default

Just go for it. You probably wont get high enough to bother about cooling. Just run ATI tool and get your max speeds, then run a game (depending on high up they got of course) for about half an hour. Shut your comp down, and if you can touch every part of your card without burning your fingers, the card is fine.
__________________

sithspawn is offline  
Old 08-05-2004, 01:56 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 405
Send a message via AIM to BxSlipSk8718 Send a message via Yahoo to BxSlipSk8718
Default

ahhh ok thanks, yeah wish i had thoses little het sinks :-( maybe next paycheck
__________________
My Box :D

- Antec P180 Xcloid 450watt PSU
- DFI LANPARTY nF4 SLI-DR
- Amd 64 Venice Core 939 3000+
- AOpen 6800GT PCI-e Stock
- 1Gig (512x2) Geil Ultra 2-3-3-4
- 250gigx2 Raid 0 Striping SATAII 16mb cache

Is Gangsta
BxSlipSk8718 is offline  
Old 08-05-2004, 04:44 AM   #4 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

You wont need any cooling devices on the Radeon. In fact you can o/c with the stock fan/heatsink upto 20 Mhz without seeing artifacts.
ag3 is offline  
Old 08-05-2004, 05:05 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 826
Default

Try ATI tool~~~~~~~~~~~~~
__________________
http://blog.diyersitzone.net/

AMD Athlon 64x2 4000+
2GB Kingston DDRII667Mhz
MSI K9Neo-F
MSI 256MB GeForce8500GT
Western Digital 160GB SATAII HDD
Maxtor 80GB 8M ATA133 HDD
LG 4163B DVDRW
17" Samsung 793Dfx Monitor
Win XP Pro
didi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.