Overclocking 6600GT - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-31-2005, 10:13 PM   #31 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 531
Send a message via AIM to jnev_89
Default

that's a pretty damn good oc. for now i'm leaving my 6600gt at stock, i don't want to burn it out for now as it plays all games just fine, but when it starts struggling, i'll start ocing it until i buy a new card.

also a tip: don't leave it oced as you would a cpu. after you're done gaming turn the powerstrip settings back down to default. you can make a profile in powerstrip so anytime you want to you can just select you oc and go rather than go through the process to oc it all over again.

hope that made sense lol.
__________________

jnev_89 is offline  
Old 06-01-2005, 07:19 AM   #32 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 265
Default

Yeah i had made the profile already. Is it damaging to leave it on the OC settings all the time even when in windows? Will my card 'burn out' quicker now? I've only just bought it! :O
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon64 3200+
160GB WD HDD
1GB Corsair 400Mhz DDR RAM
Leadtek 6600GT @ 575/1103
Lite-On DVD/RW
480 Watt Antec NeoPower
17\" LG TFT
haGGard is offline  
Old 06-01-2005, 03:22 PM   #33 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 252
Default

is this the graphics card you have?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814122206
Rawmaterial is offline  
Old 06-01-2005, 05:38 PM   #34 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 265
Default

Yeah thats the one i have...
__________________
AMD Athlon64 3200+
160GB WD HDD
1GB Corsair 400Mhz DDR RAM
Leadtek 6600GT @ 575/1103
Lite-On DVD/RW
480 Watt Antec NeoPower
17\" LG TFT
haGGard is offline  
Old 06-01-2005, 08:01 PM   #35 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default

Oh, I should return the settings to normal when not playing?
BTW-Haggard yeah, it's easy to OC with powerstrip, not burn ur card. lol.
woot7800GT is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 05:29 PM   #36 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default

...some1 asked if you need to keep the ratio, and the answer is no, you do not have to.
and yes, your card will "burn out" faster, but nothing you need to worry about. The life time whent down from 10 yrs to 9... by that time you will hopefully buy a new one.. lol
__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 05:38 PM   #37 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 265
Default

Thats cool. I'm pretty sure i will buy a card in the next 10 years lol. Though i have had to take the overclocking down from 581/1072 to 575/1072 as when playing Farcry, i was seeing green flashes in places...
__________________
AMD Athlon64 3200+
160GB WD HDD
1GB Corsair 400Mhz DDR RAM
Leadtek 6600GT @ 575/1103
Lite-On DVD/RW
480 Watt Antec NeoPower
17\" LG TFT
haGGard is offline  
Old 06-04-2005, 02:49 AM   #38 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
macdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 813
Default

good thread, I want to keep this on file as one of my threads if I ever decide to OC my 6600GT.

Mine is PCI-E but the stock clock speeds are the same as yours, 500/1000.

I might take it to 530/1060 or so, cuz my GPU core temp right now is 54 C.
__________________

macdawg is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.