Overclock? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-12-2005, 01:16 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 876
Default

overclocking is not a product. the bios is already in the comp uter
__________________

phosho510 is offline  
Old 03-12-2005, 01:22 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 34
Default

oh so overclocking is made in the computer already.....ITS NOT A PRODUCT??? omg im so dumb........i dont think my bios is good ill send it to you over the internet tell me if its good
__________________

TheComputerPro is offline  
Old 03-12-2005, 01:24 PM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Excuse me, but I have a question.

Are you trying to be this way, i mean, the sig, the question and the name?
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-12-2005, 01:27 PM   #14 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

"Overclocking" cannot be purchased or obtained, as it is not a material possesion. The term overclocking refers to a user increases the clock speed of either memory, processor, or video beyond the speed it is sold to run at.

For example, if you an AMD Athlon 3200+ which runs at a stock speed of 2.0Ghz, the multiplier will be set at 10 and the front side bus (or in this case, the hypertransport) will be set to 200.

200 x 10 = 2000

You may access the FSB/HTT number via the BIOS in order to increase or decrease it. For example, say I increased the HTT by 10mhz, the equation would then look like the following.

210 x 10 = 2100

You have now successfully increased your CPU clock speed by 100mhz.

Be warned, overclocking is dangerous. It increases core temperature, increases the risk of instability, and it voids your warranty. It should not be attempted if you do not have a firm grasp of the concept and are not prepared to troubleshoot issues that may arise.

The BIOS (basic input output system) is a piece of software which is built into your motherboard, and controls the basic configuration of your computer. Do not tamper with any setting in the BIOS is you are not familar with it.

The BIOS will have come with your motherboard though, it's the foundation for your PC, your computer would not boot without a proper, working BIOS. You will not have to buy it.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 03-12-2005, 01:28 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 34
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DJ-CHRIS
Excuse me, but I have a question.

Are you trying to be this way, i mean, the sig, the question and the name?
what do you mean..."be this way" hey i no a lot about computers i just didnt know what and overclocking was
TheComputerPro is offline  
Old 03-12-2005, 01:32 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

The BIOS is basically a microchip on your motherboard, which is part of your computer. Every computer has one, so you don't need to buy one. It is a piece of hardware, a physical microchip, so it's no use trying to send it over the internet.

To overclock you need to enter the BIOS setup program, which is usually done by pressing the del key or F10 or something similar when the computer is just starting up. In there you can set the relevant parameters.

It would appear that you do not know all that much about it, so you may want to read up a little further on the subject before you try overclocking as it can be dangerous and can damage your computer.
__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 03-12-2005, 01:36 PM   #17 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TheComputerPro
what do you mean..."be this way" hey i no a lot about computers i just didnt know what and overclocking was
Just asking to make sure.

I am suprised you dont know about overclocking, as even my computer illeterate family knows what overclocking is.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-12-2005, 01:37 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 34
Default

Im gonna put my multiplier on 20x, is that ok?
TheComputerPro is offline  
Old 03-12-2005, 01:40 PM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 876
Default

if you want a fried cpu, than ok.
phosho510 is offline  
Old 03-12-2005, 01:41 PM   #20 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 34
Default

what do you mean "fried", will it still work, i want my computer to go 20 times faster so i wont mind
__________________

TheComputerPro is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.