Overclock? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-12-2005, 12:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 34
Question Overclock?

Hi! What is an overclock and where can i get one? Its real cheap from what I hear!
__________________

TheComputerPro is offline  
Old 03-12-2005, 12:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 876
Default

http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=22031
__________________

phosho510 is offline  
Old 03-12-2005, 12:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Overclocking is making your PC run faster than it does. Nothing else is needed, except possibly more cooling.

TheComputerPro, you should really know this, you pro
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-12-2005, 12:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 34
Default HUH

Wait so overclocking is FREE????? WOW where do i buy(get) one?
TheComputerPro is offline  
Old 03-12-2005, 12:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 195
Default

__________________
-=Complete!=-

-DFI Lanparty NF4 Ultra-D
-AMD 64 3000 Winnie
-eVga 6600GT (PCIe)
-Mushkin Dual Pack PC3200 (512 X2)
-80gb WD SATA HDD
-Lite-On CD-RW
-Creative Live! Series 5.1 surround sound w/subwoofer
-Fans Galore
CreditSolutions is offline  
Old 03-12-2005, 01:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 34
Default OK

So i read the link phosho gave me and i understand the overclocker is a multiplier of your computer....im not sure what that means..........but is it free and how do i get one???
TheComputerPro is offline  
Old 03-12-2005, 01:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 195
Default

Overclocking is done in the BIOS. You can either raise your FSB to achieve a higher CPU clock speed (CPU clock = fsb x multiplier) or you can change your multiplier if your proccesser allows. (Usually done via jumpers on the mainboard.)

Be sure to have adequate CPU cooling before you try. If your CPU is already idling at 40*c or more, wait!
__________________
-=Complete!=-

-DFI Lanparty NF4 Ultra-D
-AMD 64 3000 Winnie
-eVga 6600GT (PCIe)
-Mushkin Dual Pack PC3200 (512 X2)
-80gb WD SATA HDD
-Lite-On CD-RW
-Creative Live! Series 5.1 surround sound w/subwoofer
-Fans Galore
CreditSolutions is offline  
Old 03-12-2005, 01:06 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 34
Question

where do i get this bio?
TheComputerPro is offline  
Old 03-12-2005, 01:11 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Read the overclocking guide posted
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-12-2005, 01:14 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 34
Default

So i get it i have to buy a bios then make the cpu cooling and then i have to use a bio to multiply..........what bios should i get....which one is good?
__________________

TheComputerPro is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.