Over clocking an AMD 3000+ - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-13-2005, 01:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 611
Default Over clocking an AMD 64 3000+

Anyone have an idea of how far i can overclock an AMD 64 3000+ w/ just stock cooling? Or just what's the max temps that an 64-bit 3000+ can stablilly run?

Future AMD 64 3000+ owner....

-thanx in advance-
__________________

__________________
AMD Newcastle skt 754 3000+
Elitegroup 755-A2 ATX motherboard
512 DDR RAM
120 gig PATA Hard drive
128 mb AGP 8x ATI Radeon 9250
300 watt 12 volt psu
Antec SLK 1600 case
emeraldice is offline  
Old 03-13-2005, 01:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
I Rule You
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 543
Send a message via AIM to FadingTheory Send a message via Yahoo to FadingTheory
Default

I've seen up to 2.4+ GHz (3400+) claimed.

I am getting one as well tomorrow, as well, and would also appriciate any information on overclocking this CPU. I know it has a lot to do with the motherboard (UT Lanparty 250 GB nForce3) and the specific CPU, but some general limits would be nice.

Thanks in advance.
__________________

__________________
Iraq... whee.
FadingTheory is offline  
Old 03-13-2005, 01:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 195
Default

The multiplier will be locked, so you will be somewhat limited in that department.

333 or 400 FSB?
__________________
-=Complete!=-

-DFI Lanparty NF4 Ultra-D
-AMD 64 3000 Winnie
-eVga 6600GT (PCIe)
-Mushkin Dual Pack PC3200 (512 X2)
-80gb WD SATA HDD
-Lite-On CD-RW
-Creative Live! Series 5.1 surround sound w/subwoofer
-Fans Galore
CreditSolutions is offline  
Old 03-13-2005, 02:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 611
Default

FSB doesn't matter. AMDs don't have a FSB so it doesn't matter.
__________________
AMD Newcastle skt 754 3000+
Elitegroup 755-A2 ATX motherboard
512 DDR RAM
120 gig PATA Hard drive
128 mb AGP 8x ATI Radeon 9250
300 watt 12 volt psu
Antec SLK 1600 case
emeraldice is offline  
Old 03-13-2005, 02:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

With stock cooling (without extra voltage) people can get them to 2.6
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-13-2005, 02:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 195
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by emeraldice
FSB doesn't matter. AMDs don't have a FSB so it doesn't matter.
Care to explain that?
__________________
-=Complete!=-

-DFI Lanparty NF4 Ultra-D
-AMD 64 3000 Winnie
-eVga 6600GT (PCIe)
-Mushkin Dual Pack PC3200 (512 X2)
-80gb WD SATA HDD
-Lite-On CD-RW
-Creative Live! Series 5.1 surround sound w/subwoofer
-Fans Galore
CreditSolutions is offline  
Old 03-13-2005, 02:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 611
Default

that's a lot...how hot do you think that'll run?
I think i'm gunna hafta couple stock cooling w/ a stock 300 watt power supply...maybe i can trick myself into getting me nicer fans and power supply.
__________________
AMD Newcastle skt 754 3000+
Elitegroup 755-A2 ATX motherboard
512 DDR RAM
120 gig PATA Hard drive
128 mb AGP 8x ATI Radeon 9250
300 watt 12 volt psu
Antec SLK 1600 case
emeraldice is offline  
Old 03-13-2005, 02:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 611
Default

Oh sure credit solutions. The reason AMD is keeping up w/ Intel is becuase its superior architecture. Part of the superior architecture is that the FSB is integrated into the CPU (or something to that extent). Architecture advances like these enable the AMD CPUs to preform up about 150% better than similar Intels w/ similar clock speeds.
__________________
AMD Newcastle skt 754 3000+
Elitegroup 755-A2 ATX motherboard
512 DDR RAM
120 gig PATA Hard drive
128 mb AGP 8x ATI Radeon 9250
300 watt 12 volt psu
Antec SLK 1600 case
emeraldice is offline  
Old 03-13-2005, 02:07 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 195
Default

Your thinking of HTT.

Which the Athlon XP does not have

EDIT: If you were talking about the AMD 64 3000+ all this time, my apologies. You didnt clarify, so I assumed you meant the 3000 XP
__________________
-=Complete!=-

-DFI Lanparty NF4 Ultra-D
-AMD 64 3000 Winnie
-eVga 6600GT (PCIe)
-Mushkin Dual Pack PC3200 (512 X2)
-80gb WD SATA HDD
-Lite-On CD-RW
-Creative Live! Series 5.1 surround sound w/subwoofer
-Fans Galore
CreditSolutions is offline  
Old 03-13-2005, 02:11 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 611
Default

oh...very sry every one...i'll go edit my post. Yea...at least i'm buying an AMD 64 3000+. I dunno 'bout the other guy, fadingtheory.

*edit*
HAHA...falling theory...my apologies....
__________________

__________________
AMD Newcastle skt 754 3000+
Elitegroup 755-A2 ATX motherboard
512 DDR RAM
120 gig PATA Hard drive
128 mb AGP 8x ATI Radeon 9250
300 watt 12 volt psu
Antec SLK 1600 case
emeraldice is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.