OS Won't Load! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-26-2005, 09:52 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 11
Exclamation OS Won't Load!

My troubles started when I bought a Pentium III 1.4Ghz Tualatin CPU and installed it into my system (M/B: PCChips M791G v1.0A). As soon as I started the computer, everything seemed to go right until it came time to load Windows. At first it was able to get to the Windows XP logo and then all of a sudden it just restarted on me! Every time afterwards it wouldn't even go as far as being able to load all of those "white bars" before the Windows XP logo. My motherboard is supposed to be compatible with the 1.4Ghz Pentium 3 Tualatin (http://www.pcchips.com.tw/PCCWeb/Pro...=CPU%20Support) and I've already tried reverting back to a 650Mhz Pentium 3 but to no avail. I've concluded that either it's my hard drive (Factory Recertified OEM White Label 40GB 7200RPM) or the motherboard that aren't working. If anyone's had any previous experience with this problem, I'd appreciate the help. I want to try fixing this problem myself before consulting the paid proffessionals.

pv1yang is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 12:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 26
Send a message via AIM to aglobalthreat

Hmm.. well There is a chance your motherboard could of been damaged. I dont think anything happened to your HD when you changed processors.. Also, what are the other specs on your computer?

aglobalthreat is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 02:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363

You need more RAM. XP needs a minimum of 128, 256 to run it stable, and 512 for peformance,and 1 GB or gaming.

Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 02:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS

Originally posted by desiboi
You need more RAM. XP needs a minimum of 128, 256 to run it stable, and 512 for peformance,and 1 GB or gaming.
But a lack of ram will not cause issues

Personally I would narrow it down to the motherboard by using a seperate video card and you already tried PC's

Another thing you can do, see if it boots off another OS. Search google for "Knoppix Live" as it's a bootable linux CD.

If knoppix boots it's a software problem.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-27-2005, 07:27 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 11

I have in there 1GB of PC2100 DDR SDRAM and it works and BIOS recognizes it as that so I don't think we can blame it on the RAM. I have ordered a Knoppix CD so I think I'll try that for right now. Thank you for all of your help, I deeply appreciate it.
pv1yang is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:05 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.