optimal settings for bios - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-20-2005, 04:34 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 17
Default optimal settings for bios

I am new to the optimizing computer game and have a AMD 64 3000 with 2 sticks pc3200 ddr 400 512 and a soltek mobo with a nforce3 250gb chipset and am lost when it comes to bios settings such as max mem clock, 1t/2t mem timing, cas#latency, ras# to cas# active time, row percharge time, etc. Basically i just want to run my comp at optimal performance w/o making it unstable
__________________

rebith75 is offline  
Old 04-20-2005, 09:03 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 499
Default

There should be a setting for "normal" and "optimal" settings. I would recommend setting "normal" and also enabling "cool n quiet" technology, assuming your MB supports it.
Optimal settings may require a bit more experience to use.

See how it goes with normal settings, then you can always adjust as you see fit.
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://www.democracynow.org\"><img src=\"http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y165/smileygladhands/linkbanner468x60.gif\" border=\"0\"></a>
\"All over the place, from the popular culture to the propaganda system, there is constant pressure to make people feel that they are helpless, that the only role they can have is to ratify decisions and to consume.\" -Noam Chomsky
smileygladhands is offline  
Old 04-20-2005, 11:05 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by smileygladhands
There should be a setting for "normal" and "optimal" settings. I would recommend setting "normal" and also enabling "cool n quiet" technology, assuming your MB supports it.
Optimal settings may require a bit more experience to use.

See how it goes with normal settings, then you can always adjust as you see fit.
IMO cool and quiet isnt needed for a desktop PC, but it works well on a laptop.

Leave your ram at default settings unless you are into overclocking, you cant usually run cheap ram at 3-3-3-7 at 2.5-3-3-7
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-20-2005, 11:45 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 499
Default

I'd have to disagree on that one. Once I turned on the cool n quiet on my desktop, it went from idling at 43C to 37C.
__________________
<a href=\"http://www.democracynow.org\"><img src=\"http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y165/smileygladhands/linkbanner468x60.gif\" border=\"0\"></a>
\"All over the place, from the popular culture to the propaganda system, there is constant pressure to make people feel that they are helpless, that the only role they can have is to ratify decisions and to consume.\" -Noam Chomsky
smileygladhands is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.