Optical mouse VS standard mouse?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Raphael Argus

Daemon Poster
I've been using my old reliable MS ball mouse for like 8 years. I recently realized I could use a mouse with a wheel for the extra functionality, I mostly do gaming. How are the optical mice compared to the standard ball mouse? I've seen some nice optical/wheel mice around $20, but I seem to remember long ago reading something negative about them for gaming. Shrug. Any help would be appreciated =)

dunno about other people, but personally i cant stand optical mice.. i had like .. 3 .. 2 of them logitech, and they kept either lagging or freaking out on the screen... id recommend the old mouseball cuz i never ever had problems with those, however, they get dirty and probably die faster ... im shocked that you have had one for 8 years, as mine die like . every year sometimes sooner... however.. theyre cheaper soo...
but you should check for more input from other people .. but mouseball has my vote =D

I use optical mouse and wouldn't change back myself. The old ones were not reliable due to what you said, lag when checking x/y axis location. Newer ones, however, are much more accurate and sensitive. Only problem is that you cant use it on just normal wood surface, need a mouse pad.

I personally find the ball mice bad for movement, for me optical mice are much better because they can be used on more surfaces, even on a pillow
optical mice definately are faster than ball mice, and I would recommend them for gaming
Logitech have made something even better than an optical mouse though, the MX1000 laser mouse, which is a lot faster than the optical, cost double that of the MX500 which is IMO the best of the optical mice