optical mouse problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-21-2005, 01:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1
Default optical mouse problems

due to problems that i will be sorting soon, i have had to revert back to windows me.
its running on a packard bell easyone dc laptop
despite dowloading the latest driver i cannot get my microsoft usb optical wheel mouse to work on it, it worked fine with xp home.
any suggestions or a solution would be great
many thanks
__________________

mace4u2 is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 01:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 499
Default

What's the model # and manufacturer?

Also, have you tried using a PS2 adapter?
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://www.democracynow.org\"><img src=\"http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y165/smileygladhands/linkbanner468x60.gif\" border=\"0\"></a>
\"All over the place, from the popular culture to the propaganda system, there is constant pressure to make people feel that they are helpless, that the only role they can have is to ratify decisions and to consume.\" -Noam Chomsky
smileygladhands is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 03:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 222
Send a message via AIM to Alex4R Send a message via Yahoo to Alex4R
Default

Be sure to check CMOS and see if it is set to allow a USB mouse.
Alex4R is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 03:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Never use USB unless really neccesary. It kinda sucks, especially with older comps and OS, although everything works fine on my old MMX. Get one of those adapters (USB-to-PS/2)!
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 03:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Yeah, try a PS/2 setup (with a dongle or whatever). It's WindowsME, which is crap and unsupportable. We can't really help you beyond that. Soon as you get back to XPHome, you'll be fine.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 04:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

Y do USB mice suck so much? I use a USB optical mouse and havent had any problems at all with it.
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 04:52 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

USB mice don't "suck so much". I've been using them since they came out and have rarely encountered any problems.

The problems occur when the users don't understand the differences between a ball mouse and an optical mouse. Perfmance is based on the communication abilities of the mouse. A good optical mouse can easily overload a PS/2 port's bandwidth, as well as nix a slow/crappy machine.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 04:55 PM   #8 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

It depends on the mouse, computer, drivers. You will have more trouble if your mouse needs third party drivers and you want to connect it to another port or install a new mouse. It should work fine but using USB gives you a much higher risk of driver/compatibility trouble than PS/2.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 05:02 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

Ive got a basic logitech optical mouse, USB. never installed any drivers for it, nothing, just plugged it in and was ready to go.
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 05:11 PM   #10 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

I know Windows NT does not support USB, but I am not sure about ME
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.