optical mouse - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-21-2004, 08:19 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default optical mouse

Hi
my old mouse just dies on me. i have got a USB wireless optical mouse.
but my old machne wont respond to the mouse, i had never had the wl optical mouse installed on it.

can i get an optical mouse that plugs into the PS2 connector, or are all optical mice plugged into the usb port.

if i do have to buy a usb mouse, will it load its drivers automatically, or wont i be able to log in at the windows login screen(since i wont be able to move my mouse around)

also is there any way i can use my present wireless optical mouse(usb) on my old machine (by going into bios) or something like that.
__________________

rookie1010 is offline  
Old 04-21-2004, 08:49 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 872
Default

To start off with ...Most USB mice come with a USB to PS/2 convertor.

I don't think any mouse for that matter needs any drivers for it's basic operation ...The drivers are normally used only for the extra fucntionality of the mouse.

Now to getting ur current USB mouse working ... Make sure u have the USB enabled in the bios ... That's the only thing u need to check up in the bios. Also u can login to windows without the mouse ...using just the keyboard ( tab key n' enter)
__________________

__________________
Screenshots of my Desktop.....Post ur\'s too :D

AMD AthlonXP3000+@ 2.2GHz, Cooler Master Aero 7+, Gigabyte 7NNXP , 1GB Kingston HyperX PC3200 Dual Channel , MSI FX5600 VTDR 256 ,Pinnacle PCTV , 120+120GB Barracuda , Liteon 52x CDRW , Samsung DVDROM , Benq DW1620 16x DVD ReWriter, Phillips 21\" TV,Samsung Syncmaster 763MB,Logitech Cordless MX DUO , Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Butterfly Series PSU, Win XP SP2,RH9.
Creative DDTS100 Decoder, Creative Inspire TD7700 7.1 Speakers

Search TF B4 u post { Thanks for this one! Emily :) }
<form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
preet2u is offline  
Old 04-21-2004, 08:53 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 98
Default

what operating system are you using......win NT doesn't recognize plug and play devices or USB (since usb is, by default, plug and play). If you're using NT, find a sub to ps2 adapter like was mentioned above
__________________
If I\'m curt with you, it\'s because time is a factor. I think fast. I talk fast. And, I need you guys to act fast if you wanna get out of this. So, pretty please with sugar on top, clean the fu**ing car- Winston Wolf, Pulp Fiction
wansingct is offline  
Old 04-21-2004, 09:53 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3
Default

Had the same prob...
get a USB to PS2 PS/2 plug .
Mr_BigShot is offline  
Old 04-21-2004, 12:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 35
Send a message via ICQ to Landoix
Default

Yup. Easiest way out, and if your mouse didn't come with one, I just bought one the other day at Wal-Mart. Only 2 or $3.
Landoix is offline  
Old 04-21-2004, 12:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default

give the mouse a proper burial
__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 04-21-2004, 03:44 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

i have taken the mouse apart, and dumped it in the bin.
this time the mouse worked at the login screen, i had previously enabled the usb support. ( i guess that means i should always have a non usb keyboard handy to make changes to the BIOS).

wha ti thought was that the optical sensor requires considerable power which can only be supplied by a USB port, so if you hook up the USB mouse to a pS-2 port via an adaptor you won't get that much power, since perhaps the PS-2 port and the USB port have different power ratings.
rookie1010 is offline  
Old 04-21-2004, 06:58 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 872
Default

The power required by the mouse is pretty low .. like 500mA ...so both USB n' PS/2 are able to power the mouse perfectly
__________________

__________________
Screenshots of my Desktop.....Post ur\'s too :D

AMD AthlonXP3000+@ 2.2GHz, Cooler Master Aero 7+, Gigabyte 7NNXP , 1GB Kingston HyperX PC3200 Dual Channel , MSI FX5600 VTDR 256 ,Pinnacle PCTV , 120+120GB Barracuda , Liteon 52x CDRW , Samsung DVDROM , Benq DW1620 16x DVD ReWriter, Phillips 21\" TV,Samsung Syncmaster 763MB,Logitech Cordless MX DUO , Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Butterfly Series PSU, Win XP SP2,RH9.
Creative DDTS100 Decoder, Creative Inspire TD7700 7.1 Speakers

Search TF B4 u post { Thanks for this one! Emily :) }
<form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
preet2u is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.