Opteron buyers - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-13-2006, 01:35 AM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,241
Send a message via AIM to Powerslave
Default Opteron buyers

Since there was a huge hype on the opteron processors, I have to ask, did you spend your money well, are you happy with what you got?

I'm wondering because sometimes I buy things that are all hyped up but I end up wondering why I ever bought it. Like PSP, I rarely use it anymore.
__________________

Powerslave is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 01:50 AM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: in the past
Posts: 1,144
Send a message via AIM to thebleakness
Default

At first i wasnt happy with my opteron because i thought i had gotton a dud 148. Well it turned out my RAM wasnt too good for some reason. My 148 is now at 2.8 at 1.4vCORE and going and stable at that. So now im happy. It really depends on the stepping if you decide to OC. What do you plan on getting?
__________________

thebleakness is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 02:07 AM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,241
Send a message via AIM to Powerslave
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by thebleakness
At first i wasnt happy with my opteron because i thought i had gotton a dud 148. Well it turned out my RAM wasnt too good for some reason. My 148 is now at 2.8 at 1.4vCORE and going and stable at that. So now im happy. It really depends on the stepping if you decide to OC. What do you plan on getting?
I'm not planning on buying anything, I'm just wondering if you guys are happy with your purchases
Powerslave is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 09:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

I'd say yeah...I'm a bit disappointed that core1 is a bit weak and ended up holding back core0 but I can't really complain and am overall quite glad I spoiled myself, and I still don't even know the full potential of this yet

The only beef I have is the fact I was forced to SP2 so I could install the appropriate patches
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.