Oppinions on razer diamondback - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-03-2006, 03:34 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 39
Default

Hey hey what about the logitech mx518; http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16826104178
__________________

MyopicRequiem is offline  
Old 04-03-2006, 03:37 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 39
Default

oh & personally I love the plasma blue diamondback but I just can't see myself spending that much on a mouse so I would suggest the mx518
__________________

MyopicRequiem is offline  
Old 04-03-2006, 05:18 PM   #13 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

I went with the MX518 purely for comfort.

The on the fly DPI is a gimmick and is more of an annoyance than anything give me the full 1600dpi not 400/800 that I can get from a cheap mouse.

I also love that when you flick the mouse really hard - but don't move it very far - the cursor moves really far, I can do 540 with one flick where it would take will the whole mouse pad to do it slowly.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 04-03-2006, 07:26 PM   #14 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Lol, thats called acceleration, and it should be disabled for games. Here is a program to totally disable it (or re-enable it):
http://files.filefront.com/accelfixe.../fileinfo.html
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 04-03-2006, 10:18 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 543
Default

i have the diamondback plasma. i personally think its not that comftorble. buttons are kinda big and are easily pressed. the right two buttons are pretty useless since you can't easily use them with ur right hand. or if ur left handed you can't use the left side buttons. i rather got a logitech since the mouse is more comftorble.
__________________
3200+ A64 skt 754
ASUS K8N4-E Deluxe
2x 512mb corsair value
X1800XL 512mb@X1800XT
2x 80g WD SATA
X-FI Platinum
Antec P180b
Running is offline  
Old 04-03-2006, 11:19 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 186
Default

i don't like all the little buttons by the scroll button. Like what are they used for?
__________________
<a href=\"http://photobucket.com\" target=\"_blank\"><img src=\"http://i24.photobucket.com/albums/c13/yours--only/fwfsfsdf.png\" border=\"0\" alt=\"Image hosting by Photobucket\"></a>

Wolfenstein Enemy territory id:
|EtO|Notor!ous

Steam id:
Notoriou5

Star Craft id:
Notoriou5
N0toriou5 is offline  
Old 04-03-2006, 11:22 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 186
Default

also what logitech modle is best?
__________________
<a href=\"http://photobucket.com\" target=\"_blank\"><img src=\"http://i24.photobucket.com/albums/c13/yours--only/fwfsfsdf.png\" border=\"0\" alt=\"Image hosting by Photobucket\"></a>

Wolfenstein Enemy territory id:
|EtO|Notor!ous

Steam id:
Notoriou5

Star Craft id:
Notoriou5
N0toriou5 is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 02:27 AM   #18 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

the best Logitech mice are the G5 (wired) and G7 (wireless)
I have a G5 personally

on the G5, the buttons next to the sctroll wheel are to adjust sensitivity.
on the MX-500, MX-510 and MX-518, they're to scroll up and down, and also to change the active window (I also have an MX-510)
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 02:48 AM   #19 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by 003
Lol, thats called acceleration, and it should be disabled for games. Here is a program to totally disable it (or re-enable it):
http://files.filefront.com/accelfixe.../fileinfo.html
Why? I love it, it means that I don't have to change the sensitivity when going from a sniper to a normal gun and I can do random spin on the spots to scan the area.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 03:50 PM   #20 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

I've got both the Diamondback and the Copperhead and I like the Copperhead better.
__________________

HAVOC is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.