Opinions on this setup - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-09-2005, 06:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 25
Default Opinions on this setup

I am trying to configure a PC for the first time so here it goes....

AMD athlon 3400+
Asus k8v-x
Lite on CD burner
Thermaltake soprano
Samsung floppy
Western digital caviar 80gb
Rosewill Geforce fx5200
OCz 512 ram
Cooler master 400 w PSS
__________________

nmt6789 is offline  
Old 08-09-2005, 06:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer
Default

sucky graphics card i would downgrade the processor and get atleast a 6600gt.and ull need a better power supply.and ull probably want more ram since the todays standard is 1 gig.but i dont know how intense u want to play games but since u whent with a fairly powerful amd i would take a guess that ur gaming if not that is a big waste of money unles ur doing video editing and all that fance shmancy.but if ur not playin games or playing very little amount of games i would simply go with a 3.0ghz P4. u could even get a 64bit one if ud like and it would be cheaper. but its up to you,but we dont know what your doin with the system so we cant tell u if its good or not
__________________

__________________
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
HD AUDIO
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Old 08-09-2005, 06:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Uh...yeah...

Definately upgrade your video card.

512MB is bare minimum. It will work, but you might want more in the future.

Go with 500W PSU, but be sure to get a good brand (ThermalTake, Antec, PC Power, and the like).

Be sure to post your changes and your final.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 08-09-2005, 06:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 25
Default

Ok thanx
nmt6789 is offline  
Old 08-09-2005, 07:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default

You should also get a DVD burner instead of cd.
brinks is offline  
Old 08-09-2005, 07:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 25
Default

Yeah thats true. I'll have to rethink that......
__________________

nmt6789 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.