Opinions and Help with New Computer Set Up - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-19-2005, 05:43 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 27
Question Opinions and Help with New Computer Set Up

Hey guys, I was looking for the real computer "guns" to over look my ideas and pick faults and areas for improvement in my new set up I’m looking at creating. So far it's around $3000AUD and that's my max price realy. I'm mainly gona be using the computer for gaming, and some video editing and just general **** like movies and stuff.

Here are my ideas so far :
1. DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 Ultra-D
2. Leadtek A400 GT GeForce FX6800 GT 256MB TV/DVI, AGP8X
3. AMD Athlon64 3800+ Retail - Socket 939 - Venice Core
4. Antec Antec P180, Performance One, ATX MidiTower Case
5. OCZ PowerStream 520W Ultra-Quiet ATX PSU
6. Corsair 1024MB XMS2700 - TwinX - Extra Low Latency DDR RAM (2 x 512MB)
7. Seagate Barracuda NCQ 120GB 7200rpm ATA150 Serial ATA HDD - 8MB Cache X 2

And i have the logitech Z-5500 speakers and i was looking at geting a sound card that isn't to expensive with optical output on it. So i can watch dvds with dolby digital sound.

Anyway cheers ,
James
__________________

jbowman101 is offline  
Old 06-19-2005, 05:50 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 27
Default

P.s Will i need any extra cooling in this system and is there any new tech thats coming out soon that is worth waiting for ?
__________________

jbowman101 is offline  
Old 06-19-2005, 05:59 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

That video card isn't compatible with the system. It is AGP 8x and you need PCI express.

I would go with the 3700 san diego core.

I would go with the OCZ platinum rev. 2 for the ram. (I think that ram is PC2700, so it will be a HUGE bottle neck, being slower than the system bus.

If you have a little bit os money spare from your budget, it may be worth looking into the Thermalright 7700cu.


Edit: almost forgot, the new GPU's are coming out very soon. The 7800 comes out tomorrow (in US) and the X900 comes out very soon as well. The X900 looks to be the better one from the specs.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 06-19-2005, 06:12 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 27
Default

Hey,
- i dont know much about computer realy, i know the general things but , how is the Leadtek A400 GT GeForce FX6800 GT 256MB TV/DVI, AGP8X compatible with the system, i dont quite understand, the mobo has an AGP slot supporting x8?
-Whats the advantage of the 3700 san diego core, what would be the next step up from that ?
-I'l change the RAM to your suggestion, will 1024MB be good enough, or would it be a good idea to increase the ram ?
-Whats the Thermalright 7700cu ?
-Would you make any other changes ?
-Do you know if the x900 and the 7800 will much more expensive that the current card i've chosen?
-Any suggestions on a sound card ??
Thanks heaps for the help,
James
jbowman101 is offline  
Old 06-19-2005, 06:28 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 111
Default

Check your mobo specs again. The DFI does NOT have an AGP slot, only PCI-E x16. All DFI NF4 boards have only PCI-E slots.
__________________
Pentium4 3.0C Ghz CPU 800FSB
Zalman CNPS7000A-Cu CPU cooler
Enlight 420 Watt ATX Power Supply
ASUS P4P800 SE Motherboard (Intel 865PE chipset)
2x 512MB Crucial PC3200 DDR SDRAM
eVGA Nvidia 128MB e-Geforce 6600GT 8x AGP
WD 74GB Raptor SATA HD (10,000 RPM)
NEC 16x DVD +/- R/RW Writer
NEC 16x DVD-ROM
MyHD 120 PCI HDTV tuner card
Apacer embedded 6in1 card reader
4 Cooler Master 80mm case fans
Vantec HD cooler
Viewsonic P810 21\" CRT monitor
Windows XP Pro Service Pack 1
Dean66 is offline  
Old 06-19-2005, 07:28 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

The san diego core has 1mb cache, whereas the one you chose has 512kb's.

There is no need for more than 1gb of ram at the moment. The OCZ ram is a great overclocker, and is quite cheap.

The 7700cu is a heatsink. http://www.zalman.co.kr/eng/product/...?idx=145&code=

They will probally be the same price. Wait until tomorow to get an idea of the price

The creative ones are good. Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS 7.1 THX Sound Card?? You will have to check to see if it has opticle out.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 06-19-2005, 07:44 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

MOBO
MSI NEO-4F K8N NFORCE-4

RAM
G-Skill 1GB(2x 512) F1-3200PHU2-1GBZX

Processor
AMD ATHLON 64 3200+

Video Card- 6800GT PCI-E(these cost way more than agp counterparts)

Get yourself a nice LCD or some more games with the money saved.
Hacp is offline  
Old 06-19-2005, 08:05 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

stick with the DFI, its a better board than the MSI, i can attest to that, i own an MSI. I would recommend the 3700 san diego as well. And if u want, u can wait for the new video cards to hit the market, which means waiting into august, or maybe even later. If not, get an eVGA 6800 GT
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 06-19-2005, 09:42 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

Explain yourself on the MSI mobo. Is theere defects?
Hacp is offline  
Old 06-19-2005, 10:13 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

No, its a very good mobo. Its just that the DFI is better. Especially when it comes to overclocking
__________________

__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.