oopsie - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-15-2005, 05:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 95
Send a message via AIM to z3r0gr4v1ty
Default oopsie

well last night being the dumb **ck that i am i was pissing around in my bios on my other computer and well i seen this option to change the clock speed of the processor from 1.1 to 1.4 so i figuered that it wouldn't harm much to play with it and well i changed it and restarted and boom now i have the black screen of death i mean NOTHING will come up and i have tried resetting my cmos by taking out the battery for a couple of minutes but it doesn't fix nething also i was playing around with it this morning trying to get it to work and then i went to bed and woke up and started messin' with it again and now my fans don't work for my cpu and there is another one that i don't know but it cools but it's right below my cpu fan but that one don't work either could this be related to the bios? it doesn't really matter much b /c i am getting a new motherboard the 17th it's in the mail right now just waiting for it but was hoping to still keep this motherboard for a spare
__________________

z3r0gr4v1ty is offline  
Old 03-15-2005, 06:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

300MHz is a huge bump dude. If you were interested in overclocking you really should have read up on it...it's easy to screw something up if you don't know what you're doing, but it looks like you've found that out the hard way.

Try turning off the PSU...moving the CMOS jumper to pins 2-3, turn the switch on the back of the PSU back on...wait 2 seconds..turn it off...put jumpers back to it's normal 1-2 pins, turn PSU back on and try to boot your computer.

If that doesn't work, then chances are you might have just popped the life out of the chip since it seems like it's a rather old one...you could always try taking out the processor and reseating it, see if with the grace of god it works again, and try the same with RAM and vid card.
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 03-15-2005, 06:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 95
Send a message via AIM to z3r0gr4v1ty
Default

well i know it's a huge jump but thats the whole reason i was in the bios and that was the only setting that i seen to change anything to even do with over clocking
__________________
Specs:
POWMAX CP0327PL-4 - Case
AMD Duron 1.8ghz 266fsb - CPU
Syntax SV266AD Socket A - Mobo
512MB PC2100 - RAM
PNY Geforce 4 440mx SE - GPU
Windows 2000 SP4 - OS
Logitech 2 button optical scroll mouse
MicroInnovations Web/Office Keyboard
Motorola IMfree - Wireless Aim
z3r0gr4v1ty is offline  
Old 03-15-2005, 06:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 95
Send a message via AIM to z3r0gr4v1ty
Default

ah well was hoping to have a backup mobo laying around but looks like i mighta screwed that one up lol thank god i have one on the way
__________________
Specs:
POWMAX CP0327PL-4 - Case
AMD Duron 1.8ghz 266fsb - CPU
Syntax SV266AD Socket A - Mobo
512MB PC2100 - RAM
PNY Geforce 4 440mx SE - GPU
Windows 2000 SP4 - OS
Logitech 2 button optical scroll mouse
MicroInnovations Web/Office Keyboard
Motorola IMfree - Wireless Aim
z3r0gr4v1ty is offline  
Old 03-15-2005, 06:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 95
Send a message via AIM to z3r0gr4v1ty
Default

oh one more thing though i think my jumpers were by defualt on 2-3 to begin with..or maybe i'm counting them wrong maybe it's the other way around
__________________
Specs:
POWMAX CP0327PL-4 - Case
AMD Duron 1.8ghz 266fsb - CPU
Syntax SV266AD Socket A - Mobo
512MB PC2100 - RAM
PNY Geforce 4 440mx SE - GPU
Windows 2000 SP4 - OS
Logitech 2 button optical scroll mouse
MicroInnovations Web/Office Keyboard
Motorola IMfree - Wireless Aim
z3r0gr4v1ty is offline  
Old 03-15-2005, 06:19 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 95
Send a message via AIM to z3r0gr4v1ty
Default

don't mean to be spamming this thread but i post and then i think of something else to say haha i'll try too get it all out in this one also do u think this has anything to do with my fans also? and would my processor still be anygood?
__________________
Specs:
POWMAX CP0327PL-4 - Case
AMD Duron 1.8ghz 266fsb - CPU
Syntax SV266AD Socket A - Mobo
512MB PC2100 - RAM
PNY Geforce 4 440mx SE - GPU
Windows 2000 SP4 - OS
Logitech 2 button optical scroll mouse
MicroInnovations Web/Office Keyboard
Motorola IMfree - Wireless Aim
z3r0gr4v1ty is offline  
Old 03-15-2005, 06:23 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

There is an edit post function...
__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 03-15-2005, 06:25 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
don't mean to be spamming this thread but i post and then i think of something
That's what the edit button is for

Quote:
well i know it's a huge jump but thats the whole reason i was in the bios and that was the only setting that i seen to change anything to even do with over clocking
You overclock incrementally, not a huge jump at a time. "Thats the whole reason I was in the BIOS" isn't a very valid arguement in this scenario. You read about OC'ing...then try it..not try it..screw something up...then decide it's time to learn about it...this will save you money in the long run

No clue about your fans....assuming they are plugged into the mobo, either a connection died or the whole mobo just died on you which I haven't seen happening simply from OC'ing too high.

Processor might be fried with that jump since it's an older one. Thats why I suggest you try what I've told you above.

You gotta make sure that CMOS is on pins 1-2 then try moving them and flipping off the PSU and the rest that I said to try
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-15-2005, 06:28 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 95
Send a message via AIM to z3r0gr4v1ty
Default

well like i said b4 there was no little jump to it it only had 2 settings 1.1 and the 1.4 i know i shouldn't have done it but curiosity got the best of me
__________________
Specs:
POWMAX CP0327PL-4 - Case
AMD Duron 1.8ghz 266fsb - CPU
Syntax SV266AD Socket A - Mobo
512MB PC2100 - RAM
PNY Geforce 4 440mx SE - GPU
Windows 2000 SP4 - OS
Logitech 2 button optical scroll mouse
MicroInnovations Web/Office Keyboard
Motorola IMfree - Wireless Aim
z3r0gr4v1ty is offline  
Old 03-15-2005, 06:30 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
but curiosity got the best of me
Curiosity killed the cat

It's all good dude, back in the day I had to put my 2400+ XP to 133 to make it run at the right speed...then to myself I thought..."well if 133 is good....166 is better"....luckily for me a CMOS reset fixed the problem, but that was a newer CPU than yours.
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.