oops you broke it - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-04-2004, 06:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 504
Default oops you broke it

I was putting some new round ide cables on that i just bought and i think that i might have snapped one of the pins for my floppy drive on my motherboard. Is there supposed to be a pin missing two from the right on the bottom row? Not sure but when i boot my computer it says auto detecting for primary master but it can not find it. It sounds like something with the HDD but i didnt change anything with it. The only thing that leads me to beleive that it is the floppy is because when i was installing the ide cable i heard a snap and took it off to see one of the pins missing. If it is the HDD does anyone have any suggestions for where i went wrong. Im booting to the proper slot according to my bios. If its the floppy thats the problem, oh well because im getting a new motherboard in a few days anyway. HELP
__________________

__________________
<img src = \"http://filebox.vt.edu/users/chuck527/My%20Work/Sig.jpg\">
ThirtySixBelow is offline  
Old 01-04-2004, 07:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 620
Default

My floppy connector has a "missing pin" in that spot

..................
.. ...............

Like that.

I think it's made that way so you don't connect the cable the wrong way.
__________________

__________________

CPU - P4 2.4C, 800FSB W/HT - CONSERVATIVELY OC\'ED
MOBO - GIGABYTE GA-8KNXP 2.0 875P CHIPSET/DUAL BIOS VER. FE
RAM - 1GB (2X512) OCZ PC3200 REV 2, 400MHZ 2-3-3 6
VID CARD - ASUS RADEON 9600XT 128MB W/VIVO
FLOPPY - SAMSUNG 1.44M
HDD - MAXTOR 120GB 7200RPM ATA133 EIDE W/8MB BUFFER
DVD - LG GDR8162B 16X IDE DVD ROM
PSU - ENERMAX EG465P-VE FC 460 WATT
VANTEC VP4-C7040 AEROFLOW HS/FAN
5 X VANTEC STEALTH 80MM CASE FANS
Bleep is offline  
Old 01-05-2004, 01:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 303
Send a message via AIM to T1junkie
Default

for a pin to just break is very unlikely if the comp is seeking the Primary master it is seeking the HDD with the OS installed.

check the cables to the HDD and make sure the cable was seated
__________________
IBM/Lenovo T43 2687DSU
Pentium M 2.0Ghz
1024 MB (DDR2 SDRAM)
80 GB Ultra ATA, 5400 RPM
14.1\" LCD
Windows XP Pro
DVD-R
64MB ATI MOBILITY RADEON X300
Integrated 802.11A/B/G, Bluetooth, 10/100/1000 Eth.
T1junkie is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.