only 144GB on a 160GB HDD - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-01-2004, 03:13 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 94
Default only 144GB on a 160GB HDD

I just bought a new computer and when i went to defragment it for the first time i noticed that it says i only have 144GBs of space total, with 127 GBS LEFT. Then i checked my computer, clicked on me hard drive icon and it also said i only had 144 total. But my hard drive is suppose to be 160GBS. does anyone kno why i am only gettin 144GBs out of it? If so, can/how do u get all 160GBs?
__________________

DoinTimeSublime is offline  
Old 07-01-2004, 03:14 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 527
Default

Do you have 2 partitions on it? You would have to go and reboot to see if their was not a whole partition i think.
__________________

__________________
P4 2.26 ghz, Intel d850emv2 mobo, 768mb of pc800, sony 4x dvd-rw, teac burner, nvidia ti4600 graphics, enermax 330watt ps
4 silent uv fans, cold cathodes in full tower antec case, round ide cables

SOny vaio 2.66 ht ghz modded into raidmax case with green cold cathodes.
P4 2.8ghz HT, 512mb ddr, Intel KD865gbfl, onboard video, raidmax case, blue cathodes, round ide, loomed wires, 4x dvd burner, wd sata 80gb hard drive
Intel d865perl, 2.8ghz northwood, antec sonata, wd caviar 20gb, Corsair 512mbx1 for now. 380watt psu, ati 9600, dvdrom cdrw floppy in black too match case
mrzeeedler is offline  
Old 07-01-2004, 03:17 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

I need more information before I can help you. Did you build this computer, or did you buy it? What OS are you using? If you are using XP, is Service Pack 1 installed?
beedubaya is offline  
Old 07-01-2004, 03:26 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 94
Default

No it's not custom, It's an HP and it has XP service pack 1.
DoinTimeSublime is offline  
Old 07-01-2004, 06:01 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 346
Send a message via Yahoo to rakesh_1024
Default

160GB interms of the manufacturer=144GB for U.
As the manufacturer considers
1mb=1000kb ie mb=million bytes instead of mega bytes.
1mega byte=1024kb.
__________________
www.tech-station.net

P4 1.6GHZ Willamette core 400MHZ FSB 256KB L2 cache
Intel 845WN Mobo
256mb SD-RAM
Nvidia Riva Tnt2 M64 G-card
40GB Seagate 5400rpm HDD
300Watt PSU
Intex Cabinet
15 LG Studioworks563N
Creative Inspire2400 2.1 speakers
16x DVD ROM
52x Samsung CD Burner
rakesh_1024 is offline  
Old 07-01-2004, 07:20 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

yes, what rakesh_1024 said is true
the drives rated as 160GB are 160,000MB

there is that, and some of the space is used for the FAT (file allocation table) which is basically the index of the drive in shows what sectors of the disk each piece of data is in
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-01-2004, 09:45 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 157
Default

So u only have 144 gig of space for porn and etc....
__________________
You light\'em we fight\'em
jayhawker01 is offline  
Old 07-01-2004, 11:32 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

That's HP for ya, lying and decieving to make a buck
beedubaya is offline  
Old 07-01-2004, 12:12 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 283
Default

lol- same with me my HP pc said i had 40gb , when i checked i only had 34 gb. it's bloody bull****
__________________

__________________
BRoWZ is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.