One Terabyte hard drives. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-05-2005, 03:33 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 530
Default

nub question but a tera byte is exactly how big?

1,000 GB? or 10,000?
__________________

__________________
Quintox is offline  
Old 04-05-2005, 03:34 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 135
Default

1000, i dun even know whats after terra... or i did know and forgot
__________________

Panther5060 is offline  
Old 04-05-2005, 03:36 PM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Petabytes, then exabytes.

Gigabyte: 1000 megabytes
Terabyte: 1000 gigabytes
petabyte: 1000 terabytes
exabyte: 1000 petabytes
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 04-05-2005, 03:39 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 135
Default

and then?
Panther5060 is offline  
Old 04-05-2005, 03:53 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 530
Default

1 terabyte isnt that big

i mean sure it is, but it can be filled up if you do that right stuff with it (businesses i mean)
__________________
Quintox is offline  
Old 04-05-2005, 03:56 PM   #16 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

ive still never saw a hdd that size for sale on a normal site..... besides a good 400 gig hdd cost around $400 american.... and imagine all the data that you would lose if it failed on you.... better go raid with the frackers lol
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 04-05-2005, 04:15 PM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

I had an 80 gig on my old comp, never managed to fill more than 50 gigs, and thats with a 20 gig music file. I have a 120 gig now, but i dont know if i really need even that much. but one terabyte...jesus
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 04-05-2005, 04:28 PM   #18 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

My builder tried to sell me a terabyte HD almost a year ago, so what's new?
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 04-05-2005, 04:32 PM   #19 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

It's not that hard. I have over 650GB worth of stuff sitting on my main home PC. I've actually thought about getting a LaCie terabyte tower for home. They're great.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 04-05-2005, 04:38 PM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 587
Send a message via AIM to Sport1031
Default

After an Exabyte is Zettabyte, and then Yottabyte. Not even kidding. (Proof)

1 Terabyte = 1,024 Gigabytes
1 Gigabyte = 1,024 Megabytes
ect...
__________________

Sport1031 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.