One More Upgrade Help Topic - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-27-2003, 03:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 44
Talking One More Upgrade Help Topic

I have been recently thinking about an upgrade, Im on a budget so it cant be anything extreme, here are my basic choices:

I can Improve my graphics, or processing, but I cant choose both

If I choose graphics, here is what I have in mind:

ELSA GF3 64meg -> ATI Radeon 9500 PRO 128meg or MSI GF4 TI 4200 128meg

In this case I would keep my current processor, witch is a Athlon XP 1800

If i choose procesing...

Athlon XP 1800 -> Athlon XP 2700

also, in this case I would keep my GF3

I cant decide witch one to go for, Im am prety hard core into games, and i want to be able to play the games that will be coming around the end of the year. I have bechmarked my pc and it satys around 50-48 FPS in Unreal engine games, so considering how much more complex, Doom 3, Far Cry and Half life 2 are going to be, I need to have acceptable frames with those

One more detail, is that my PC is always on, so I cant have a graphics card that heats up easily, as I cant easily modify cooling for it

So what do u guys think, where will I get the most out of with games, procesing or graphics?
__________________

Sparda_X is offline  
Old 04-27-2003, 07:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Martin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,422
Default

The transition from GF3 to GF4 is nothing more than a DX8 card to DX8.1.

I find the Radeon 9500 Pro to be faster (even than the GeForce4 Ti 4600) and with more potential (DirectX 9 technologies should be easier on developers wanting to implement programmable features in games, than on DX8.x). I can't quite comment on the heat dissipation, but I'm guessing it would be similar to that of an equivalent GeForce4 Ti-based card. However, the Radeon 9500 Pro will require an extra power boost from the supply.

You should only upgrade that 1800+ of yours, that is, if it were less than 1.2-1.4 GHz, as the 2700+ would see a difference from that point on.
__________________

__________________
Martin's Page of Stuff

I judge you when you use poor grammar.
Martin is offline  
Old 04-27-2003, 08:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 44
Default

Nice to know all that Like my 1800+ is 1.5 Ghz than the processor change would'nt be the best idea right?

Well regarding the power supply, im using a 500wat supply, I cheked in ATI's site and they say min is a 300wat for ''normal system operation''. They say that the ATI 9500 requires a conection from the supply, would that be like the one used in the HD? they didnt specify that
Sparda_X is offline  
Old 04-27-2003, 08:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Martin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,422
Default

The Radeon 9500 Pro/9600/9700/9800 etc. will include a Y-cable which will plug into the card on one end, then require two connections from the power supply (the connector which are similar to the other devices in the machine).
__________________
Martin's Page of Stuff

I judge you when you use poor grammar.
Martin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.