one long beep then turns off - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-11-2004, 10:52 AM   #21 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 275
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Trifid
but the clips on either side of the ram slot are not clipping the ram into place.


EDIT: I booted up the pc with no ram in it, and it makes the same beeeep bbb noise. Does this mean one of my memory modules is corrupt, or both?


p.s. is there a trick to getting the ram into the slot, as in the manual it says that it clicks into place, but it is not. (a friend put the ram in for me)
if the memory modules aren't seated properly, no way is your pc going to start, it also beeps when id doesn't detect ANY memory sticks or detects faulty sticks.

there are little gaps on the bottom of the memory sticks, if there is only one gap, make sure to slide it in correctly on the motherboard.
careful not to put it in wrong, you can permenantely bend the slot.

check this out, hope this helps man!

Build Your Own

try putting just 1 stick in at a time, and booting up, if that works, then add the 2nd one in and boot up...if you find out it still doesn't boot after all this, you may have gotten faulty memory sticks.
__________________

__________________
\"I am not young enough to know everything.\" - Oscar Wilde
EdoKoi is offline  
Old 12-11-2004, 11:00 AM   #22 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

Hmmm does your cpu have the Winchester core? And also does it have the 90nm sign on the box? It may be that your bios isn't recognizing the cpu... in which case you would have to flash it.
__________________

__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 12-11-2004, 11:44 AM   #23 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Blind_Arrow
Arggh!!, i didnt know he got ABit (reminds me of some A** H***, thats y my personel hatred with ABIt, so nno more replies from my side,

as ABit fans are on the forum as well, surely there will be many)
O I hate abit, I would not touch it with sombody else's D***, I built my first comp with a, abit and had so much trouble with it, and a 20 min call to the tech, and the guy didnt have a clue...

I then just took the board back and bought a MSI board and plug it all in and it came up the first time, unlike abit which beeped at me and did nothing...

Boards I like are Msi, Asus, and I just bought a Gigabyte board and like it, expet I have one problem and I might be not looking at it right and so Im a dumb ***...

Stay away from ABIT its the devil...
Nabon is offline  
Old 12-11-2004, 05:07 PM   #24 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Trifid
the motherboard manual says for dual channel memory put them in dimm1 and dimm2, which was what i had them in, but the clips on either side of the ram slot are not clipping the ram into place.
if you don't have memory seated correctly that would be your problem. the clips must lock into the indentation on the sides of the memory or you have no connection. you have to use a lot of force, but also be careful. a computer cannot run without main memory. If you're afraid of breaking it than have someone else do it who knows how to install pc memory. ...or take it to best buy.
__________________

ekÆsine is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.