Which one goes where?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-08-2006, 11:10 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,706
Default Which one goes where??

I have a white and black wire

and a circuit board with L and N


I assume L = Live

and N = Negative

but I can't remember which wire goes where
__________________

Juice Daddy is offline  
Old 03-08-2006, 11:16 AM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

A circuit board could be anything. My guess is Black->L and White->N.
Just guessing, though.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 03-08-2006, 11:38 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

That is correct. The black wire should be live, and the white should be ground/negative.

Of course, that's by US convention. You should check with the manual for the product to make sure they didn't follow some foreign standard (or more likely, no standard).

Remember, the more people they can fry, the less they have to feed.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 03-08-2006, 12:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,706
Default

k... thanx
Juice Daddy is offline  
Old 03-08-2006, 02:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

Eh... Um, I do a lot of wiring and stuff in my truck with DC stuff. Black is always ground. Black is ground in every car I've worked on. The light colors (reds, whites) are always live.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 03-08-2006, 03:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,706
Default

oh god...

now what will I do...

I have no manule to consult...

can any one verify this...

I am trying to sauder the white and black wires to a power supplies circuit bored... which has L and N...
Juice Daddy is offline  
Old 03-09-2006, 10:12 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Juice Daddy
oh god...

now what will I do...

I have no manule to consult...

can any one verify this...

I am trying to sauder the white and black wires to a power supplies circuit bored... which has L and N...
Well, technically, as long as you remain faithful across the length of the wire, it doesn't matter does it? If A goes to A and B goes to B, the electrons don't care what color the wire is.

What exactly are you doing to the PSU?
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 03-09-2006, 11:05 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,706
Default

putting the chip into a different case...

I don't know all the technical names, sorry...

on the back of the psu case there is a three pronged outlet plug in thing...

that goes to the switch... and from there comes two wires... black and white...

I need to sauder those to this new chip...

on the chip (where they need to be saudered) it is labled L and N...

I've assumed L = Live and N = Negative...

but I don't know which goes where...

so... rather than point A to B.. I have W, B, L, and N...

idk... I probably need to open up another psu and see where those are connected
Juice Daddy is offline  
Old 03-09-2006, 11:11 AM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

This doesn't make any sense. -What- chip?
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 03-09-2006, 12:35 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,706
Default

umm...

this isn't exactly what I have but... it should clear things up...


that chip (in the green circle)

like a psu motherboard or something...
__________________

Juice Daddy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.