Onboard Video? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-25-2004, 12:12 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 139
Default

I thought that even if you got a mobo with onboard video, you could buy a video card later on and then use that with the current mobo. I thought there was some way to just install the new video while keeping the same mobo and RAM. What would prevent me from just installing a 9600xt once I get the money for it? Why can't I just upgrade instead of buying a new mobo, RAM, and video card?
__________________

__________________
-The one and only Keebler Elf-
Squaggleboggin is offline  
Old 03-25-2004, 07:27 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 139
Default

Cappy, I'm not sure what you're talking about because it says very clearly on the site that that mobo has an AGP slot... Thanks for the help though guys.
__________________

__________________
-The one and only Keebler Elf-
Squaggleboggin is offline  
Old 03-25-2004, 07:27 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
paintballer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 317
Default

In case all of you didn't notice, his board does have AGP
__________________
Athlon 64 X2 4200+
Biostar T-Force 550
2GB Gskill Ram
250GB Western Digital
200GB Western Digital
2 DVD Burners
Apevia 500W PSU
XION Solaris Case
XFX GeForce 8600GT
Hanns∑G HG-191RP 19" 2ms Widescreen LCD
Ubuntu, Windows XP
________________________

Acer Aspire 5570-2609
paintballer is offline  
Old 03-25-2004, 07:30 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
paintballer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 317
Default

lol, sorry about that, we posted at the exact same time
__________________
Athlon 64 X2 4200+
Biostar T-Force 550
2GB Gskill Ram
250GB Western Digital
200GB Western Digital
2 DVD Burners
Apevia 500W PSU
XION Solaris Case
XFX GeForce 8600GT
Hanns∑G HG-191RP 19" 2ms Widescreen LCD
Ubuntu, Windows XP
________________________

Acer Aspire 5570-2609
paintballer is offline  
Old 03-25-2004, 08:42 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default

hehe i dont no what im talking about . Actually i didnt visit the link .So im impressed to see that MB Manufactures are intergrating a better OB Video Option on an AGP board .
I guess they finally listened to the customers .The last AGP MB i purchased with OB Video was an 8 mb . So this is good to see .
Abit has allways been a solid board .
Disreguard my previous illusion , its a conspiracy attitude
__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 03-25-2004, 09:10 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 139
Default

Haha
__________________
-The one and only Keebler Elf-
Squaggleboggin is offline  
Old 03-25-2004, 09:37 PM   #17 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 19
Default

One reason might be able to have a more saleable item,or 2nd system,but i'd use the AGP slot for better video.I havn't used onboard since my Atari STE wit 4 mb of ram,a real powerhouse at the time.
TV and audio out to my home stereo 300 watt amp and 32 " monitor.
__________________

batman is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.