onboard audio - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-02-2004, 02:21 AM   #1 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default onboard audio

My system specs are in my sig, the mobo has 8.1 channel onboard audio, I am using it in 5.1 config with the correct audio cables going to their respective ports on the amp/sub.

Now, here's the thing, I use nothing but Winamp 5.? (the latest winamp) for most of my audio needs, and lately I have been hearing some cuts in the music, like it cuts out real quick for a tenth of a second, and keeps on doing that pretty repetively when another program is running. Mainly it happens while either MSN is running or Bearshare (P2P program) is running. These two programs do not take up that much memory and/or CPU when I check it out in my taskmanager.

What could be causing Winamp to mess up so much? I have noticed one thing that struck me as odd, in the task manager, the system idle process takes up 99 CPU sometimes and I cannot end the program, I'm guessing because it's vital to my system's performence. Everything else seems to be in line.

Thank you beforehand for your help,
Matthew
__________________

__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 09-02-2004, 09:36 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

well, for one, when you are downloading from bearshare (esp if your sharing is on) its your harddrive that is being worked not your cpu. the HD is reading files to be uploaded, writing files that are downloaded and Winamp is trying to read the file it has been commanded to play. Triple work all at the same time for the HD hence the skip in the music.
__________________

jaksback is offline  
Old 09-03-2004, 01:18 AM   #3 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

I will go to Asus' site and download the drivers, thanks. Also, after bearshare runs it still does it, and also after MSN. It's just those two programs, and not at the same time. I have 1 gig dual channel DDR and a 3.2E P4, bearshare and/or MSN shouldn't have that big of effect on the comp.
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 09-03-2004, 01:35 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 104
Default

If you have dial up thats a problem and jaksback is correct.
__________________
Super Lan Boy
AMD XP 2800 (Barton Core)
1024mb Kingston 3200 RAM
Gainward Ti 4800 128mb
120Gig HD 7200rpm SATA 150 8meg
40Gig HD 7200rpm ata 100 8meg Buff
Gigabyte K7 triton SE mobo
Black Lights with green cables
Windows Xp Home
52X24X52 CD/RW
DVD Player
450 watt psu
BIG_AIZZLE is offline  
Old 09-03-2004, 01:51 AM   #5 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

3 meg cable, and it was the drivers, problem fixed, thanks guys.
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.