Older proprietary connector ID - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-20-2011, 02:27 PM   #11 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Older proprietary connector ID

SCSI, that's what I was thinking of. Yeah, external SCSI. Adapter for parallel.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 06-20-2011, 02:42 PM   #12 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Older proprietary connector ID

Yha its the docking port... MY BAD ON THE WRONG PARRELLEL PRINTER. It looked like it was a printer, but looking again its a computer.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 06-20-2011, 03:14 PM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,886
Default Re: Older proprietary connector ID

I wanna say it's some type of external SCSI, which, there WAS printers made for SCSI, and even some docking stations used SCSI
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 06-20-2011, 04:28 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New Haven, CT or Liverpool, UK, the latter during schooltime
Posts: 25
Default Re: Older proprietary connector ID

Hmm, now that I'm home I took another look at this. SCSI seems very plausible, and looks to be the right shape, but from what I've read it comes in either 50-, 68-, or 80-pin variants. What I'm looking at is 120 pins (yes, I counted), 60 pairs on the top half and 60 pairs on the bottom half. Not sure if this means it's not SCSI or if it means I'm counting something wrong, so I'll see if I can show in more detail what this thing looks like.

I can't get a clearer picture than I already have, so I'll see if I can make it work:


Note: (EDITED IN) You may also be able to see from this that there is no separator between the pins, whereas pictures on the web seem to imply each pin for SCSI is in a separate rectangular partition.

Per request for more information:
It's a Dell Inspiron 3500, Model Number TS30T, service tag W242P (unfortunately looking through the parts list for that service tag doesn't seem to be helping and in fact, the parts list doesn't match up very well, leading me to believe this may well be aftermarket installed).

As an example, the parts list on the service tag implies it would have a zip drive which is notedly absent.

I'd love to tell you what software/hardware it was for but I'm not privy to that information at this time. If I get the information (and can't Google an answer for myself) I'll definitely let you know.

Thanks very much for all the help so far! I'd like to believe it's SCSI but like I said the above makes me think it's not so easy
Rasori is offline  
Old 06-20-2011, 04:41 PM   #15 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Older proprietary connector ID

Not Its 99% a docking port. It could be the same plug as a SCSI but its to attach to dell's docking port.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 06-20-2011, 05:45 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New Haven, CT or Liverpool, UK, the latter during schooltime
Posts: 25
Default Re: Older proprietary connector ID

There we go, I've got confirmation:



That's a picture used in an eBay listing for an Inspiron Port Replicator III. That definitely seems to match up with what I'm seeing, looks like two slim cards with pins on them, flanked by two bolts with no threads.

I now wonder why I was told it had to have a "special" connector, but regardless I now know I can either track down a similar laptop as a replacement, or take a look at the station she plugs it into and see where to go from there (ie, if it plugs into a port replicator, I can just build a system with the necessary ports, perhaps).

Thanks for all the help!

Edit: Pic source: eBay Listing
Rasori is offline  
Old 06-20-2011, 06:24 PM   #17 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: Older proprietary connector ID

Glad you got it sorted. Fun game though.
__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 06-21-2011, 12:06 PM   #18 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,507
Default Re: Older proprietary connector ID

Quote:
Originally Posted by kmote View Post
Glad you got it sorted. Fun game though.
"Tune in next week for our next episode of Name That Port!"
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 06-21-2011, 12:09 PM   #19 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Older proprietary connector ID

ROFL, Carnage. I'll take Proprietary Ports for 400.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Proprietary Nightmares: Don't Buy This... Cunjo New Systems | Building and Buying 11 08-02-2007 08:08 AM
Wiring a Creative Soundblaster Proprietary Audio Connector Cunjo New Systems | Building and Buying 3 07-13-2007 08:41 PM
Upping my PSU from proprietary.... teknikull System Upgrades 11 08-21-2006 08:08 AM
DSL proprietary software question Raphael Argus Microsoft Windows and Software 5 10-14-2004 01:53 AM
laptops-proprietary? blankbandit Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 08-07-2004 01:32 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.