Older Comp Questions - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-07-2004, 12:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 52
Default Older Comp Questions

I just got a bunch of old parts from a friend. He gave me two cases with mobos and hdds and cpus in them. One of the computers work. The other I havnt tried. However, the one that did work would give me an error while running its post that the CMOS battery failed. I don't even see a CMOS battery on the board!

Anyways, question is.....
The board is an old one. It takes the old EDO ram and has a Socket7 mobo. The cpu in it right now is a 150mhz. I have a 233mhz Socket7 cpu and I was wondering if it would work?
__________________

__________________
\"And thats the way it was...\"

<newpc>
550watt PSU w/ 2 LED Fans
X-Viper Case
NFII Infinity Ultra Mobo
</newpc>
Rasker is offline  
Old 04-07-2004, 12:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 16
Default

Instead of asking this question just try to replace the CPU and see if it works. In the worst case the CPU will be fried but it won't happened.
__________________

Wishmaster is offline  
Old 04-07-2004, 01:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
FireFox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 608
Default

Ok, since I've got an older computer I know exactly what to do. Ok, if you were to put the 233Mhz chip in there it would probably not work. Why? Because the 233Mhz chip takes more voltage etc. Back then you couldn't just put the CPU in and let the motherboard do the rest. Back then you had to use these old things called jumpers! Ok, first of all figure out what kind of motherboard it is. The company that makes it, and what kind. Once you find that out punch it into google and look for a manual. Also go to intel.com and go to the processor spec finder and look up your CPU to figure out how much voltage etc it needs. Once you find the manual change all the jumpers to where they should be. Put in the 233Mhz CPU and pray it works. If you still can't figure it out, then reply back and I'll explain it a little better.
__________________
FireFox is offline  
Old 04-07-2004, 02:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 52
Default

Well, right now its pointless. Power supply just died on me...
Bleh, if it ain't one thing its another. Maybe I can find someone with a pile of them and wouldn't mind giving me one.
Speaking of piles...if anyone has any old parts they don't want I might be interested.
Heres what Im interested in:
AT Socket7 mobo with AGP and about 4-5 PCI slots(perhaps some ram to go with it)
heatsink for 233MMX and fan (if possible)

However, I do know what your talking about and so far I can't find any jumpers that even look like they are related to the cpu. This will be a biatch to figure out, but I like the challenge.

Thanks!
__________________
\"And thats the way it was...\"

<newpc>
550watt PSU w/ 2 LED Fans
X-Viper Case
NFII Infinity Ultra Mobo
</newpc>
Rasker is offline  
Old 04-07-2004, 03:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 400
Default

I'll PM you, Rasker.

When you get some power to the board you want to do as FireFox says. Do research on the mainboard, find the manual, read up on the jumpers, etc., then start toying with it. That suggestion to just put it in and see what happens - worse case it fries out - only do that if you don't really give a damn. Since you posted first, i'm assuming you give a damn (otherwise why bother trying to learn how to do it the right way).
__________________
The only \"intuitive\" interface is the nipple. After that, it\'s all learned. ;)
Ares is offline  
Old 04-07-2004, 03:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Ares
That suggestion to just put it in and see what happens - worse case it fries out - only do that if you don't really give a damn. Since you posted first, i'm assuming you give a damn (otherwise why bother trying to learn how to do it the right way).
Exactly
__________________
\"And thats the way it was...\"

<newpc>
550watt PSU w/ 2 LED Fans
X-Viper Case
NFII Infinity Ultra Mobo
</newpc>
Rasker is offline  
Old 04-07-2004, 03:38 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
FireFox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 608
Default

It wouldn't frie out. For one the P150 takes less power than the P233.....it would just be underclocked or it just wouldn't work.

Edit: I think I through out most of my AT power supplies, but I might have 1 or 2 left. I have a bunch of ATX power supplies. I have a few socket 7 mobos (not ATX but AT).......I also have a slot 1 P2 350Mhz CPU and a mobo that can support it (it's atx and takes sdram...not sure if it has agp..i forget)

I also have a cooler.....but it's really loud....your best bet is just to find a heatsink...put it on there......take a case fan (yes, a case fan) and somehow strap it on to the heatsink (i found that to be very effective ^_^)
__________________
FireFox is offline  
Old 04-07-2004, 03:49 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 52
Default

Hmmmm...
That P2 350 catches my eye. See, the reason why Im building this comp is to share mp3s on irc. Also, at some point in time I will be setting up a ShoutCAST server. Mainly just for downloading mp3s, sharing mp3s, and having an irc channel bot running on one. Nothing too hard core :P

Im interested in that P2 350 tho, if you would like to sell it.
__________________
\"And thats the way it was...\"

<newpc>
550watt PSU w/ 2 LED Fans
X-Viper Case
NFII Infinity Ultra Mobo
</newpc>
Rasker is offline  
Old 04-07-2004, 05:25 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 52
Default

Also, I was wondering if anyone knew what this was.
It came with the other computer and has a yellow led attached by wire to it and a pass through connector connected by wire like a fan. On the back theres alot of jumpers and on the front is a 3 digit display that shows 16 when I plug it up in my computer. Is this a voltage meter or something?

EDIT:
BTW, my other PSU just blew up. Literally......
Plugged it up and flipped the switch and POP smoke rolled out of the socket and the PSU. Luckily I didnt have it plugged up to the motherboard or anything else except the switch.

Today just ain't my day.....
__________________
\"And thats the way it was...\"

<newpc>
550watt PSU w/ 2 LED Fans
X-Viper Case
NFII Infinity Ultra Mobo
</newpc>
Rasker is offline  
Old 04-07-2004, 06:17 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
FireFox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 608
Default

Quote:
Im interested in that P2 350 tho, if you would like to sell it.
sure, make a offer.....

Quote:
Also, I was wondering if anyone knew what this was.
It came with the other computer and has a yellow led attached by wire to it and a pass through connector connected by wire like a fan. On the back theres alot of jumpers and on the front is a 3 digit display that shows 16 when I plug it up in my computer. Is this a voltage meter or something?
I'm the type of person that I gotta see it.....so if you could post a pic that would help.

Quote:
EDIT:
BTW, my other PSU just blew up. Literally......
Plugged it up and flipped the switch and POP smoke rolled out of the socket and the PSU. Luckily I didnt have it plugged up to the motherboard or anything else except the switch.
that sux... O_o..i've had that happen before...and i've had a monitor blow up on me.....and i've had something go flying out of the side of a computer once (Still to this day i don't know what it was.....but the computer still worked...something glowing orange litterally flew out of the side of it)
__________________

__________________
FireFox is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.