old hd to new hd - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-04-2003, 04:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 5
Default old hd to new hd

I was wondering what would be the way to move all the stuff on my old hd and move it all to a new, bigger hd.
I know that step one might be to set the new hd as a slave on the ide chain.
I want to move everything: os, registry, email, etc.

Thanks
__________________

scan2 is offline  
Old 12-04-2003, 04:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Yes, first step would be to add the drive in as a slave.
Second, install a Ghost or Imaging application such as Symantec Ghost. You will have to create a boot disk and then boot from this disk. Then the setup from there is pretty self explainitory. For the instructions to image your drive and ghost the second drive using the image you just created. Very easy program to use and it's fairly quick.

-Michael
__________________

mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 12-04-2003, 04:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 5
Default

I thought about ghost I'm just not too familar with it. Do I use ghost to create this boot disk? Do I need to install the OS on the new hd before I do ghost?

Thanks
scan2 is offline  
Old 12-04-2003, 07:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

No, Ghost pretty much does it all for you. It also has plenty of documentation and walk-throughs.

-Michael
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 12-04-2003, 07:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

Take a win98 boot disk, copy Ghost.exe to it and then boot to the disk. Once booted, launch ghost.exe. Once ghost is up do a disk to disk image and in about 15 minutes, you will have your drive done. Move the slave to the master and reformat the old drive. Very simple and increadibly fast.
Inaris is offline  
Old 12-05-2003, 03:01 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

if you have the full version of ghost 2003 or 2004 put the CD in the cd-rom drive and boot up from it. if you have the full version you can create special ghost boot diskettes.

if you only have the ghost.exe than you can use a windows startup disk and copy ghost.exe to another floppy disk. boot from the startup diskette and than put the second ghost disk and run it.

ghost 2002 does not support NTFS, 2003 and up do i beleive. yes, good old DOS
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 12-05-2003, 01:55 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

The Ghost.exe from Ghost 5.5, 6 and up support NTFS, just not officially. They work fine for drive to drive images and even create .gho files. I have been using Ghost for 5 years on NT, 2k and XP machines all with NTFS. Never a problem... Ghost walker is the one that has issues reading the drives, due to it changing sids and machine names. All you need to do is see that the drive is attached, and any (dos, win95, win98, winME...) boot disc will do that much.
Inaris is offline  
Old 12-05-2003, 03:37 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 303
Send a message via AIM to T1junkie
Default

This Ghost software do they have a free or trial version?
__________________
IBM/Lenovo T43 2687DSU
Pentium M 2.0Ghz
1024 MB (DDR2 SDRAM)
80 GB Ultra ATA, 5400 RPM
14.1\" LCD
Windows XP Pro
DVD-R
64MB ATI MOBILITY RADEON X300
Integrated 802.11A/B/G, Bluetooth, 10/100/1000 Eth.
T1junkie is offline  
Old 12-05-2003, 03:54 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 774
Send a message via AIM to RyanOldw83
Default

You have to pay for it unless you can find it on P2P.
__________________
Windows XP PRO:$0, Visual Studio 6:$0, Age of Empires 2:$0, Halo:$0.
Having $100s in free MS software while people are being sued over $.99 songs: Priceless
RyanOldw83 is offline  
Old 12-05-2003, 03:57 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

Ghost comes with the symantec anitvirus suite if I recall. And you can find the exe floating around online if you search for it. All of the filesharing sites have it too. Although that isn't the best way to get it.
You can get the full version of the product for $70 US maybe less if you find an older copy....

Link...
http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg...tware&n=507846
__________________

Inaris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.