old Hard drive opinion and request - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-09-2006, 06:30 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 5
Default old Hard drive opinion and request

Ok, first off, I have owned only one name brand computer, and it was a 75mHz packard bell purchased at sears in 1995 for 2500$. Since then, I have purchased individual components, and put it all together.

Largely, the only problems I always have is with the Hard Drive and using windows. I cannot get over how well windows runs on a fresh format for the first 2 days. Almost as if windows needs a secondary os built in to accomodate new programs like internet explorer, or games so that "It" could be the one you wipe out instead of the main OS. But after reformatting a 40 gig hard drive 20 times just to reinstall the OS gets old, so I started partitioning.

My first mistake was not researching what I wanted out of each partition enough so that I had to repartition over and over, which in my opinion is why I have so many bad blocks/sectors in turn causing random reboots.

Also, I am by no means financially independant, so I cannot just go to the store and buy another hard drive. My question now would be:

Once I buy another hard drive, if I partition it, should I limit the new partitions to any set capacity? And should I have no more then 4 logical drives in the extended? And is their any software that would help me with the hard drive I have now?
__________________

claynation is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 07:00 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

I don't partition drives much now as I use 2x pysical drives for my PC's, but partitioning and formatting do not cause bad sectors. Bad sectors are caused by internal hardware manfunctions and stuff like drive heads hitting the platter.
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 07:08 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 5
Default

Well, this 3 yr old SEAGATE HD must be warped inside. I know I will get one of those 37gig 8mb cache/1000rpm HD's from newegg when I get some $$, but what brand should I consider!
claynation is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 07:37 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by claynation
Well, this 3 yr old SEAGATE HD must be warped inside. I know I will get one of those 37gig 8mb cache/1000rpm HD's from newegg when I get some $$, but what brand should I consider!
The best brand IMO are Seagate and Western Digital. However the raptors are a waste of money for the small speed difference.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 09:18 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 5
Default

thank you.
claynation is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 01:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 58
Default

The only reason to get a raptor or any other 10000rpm drive for that reason is for fast load times. If you have a raptor RAID, windows will load wikid fast, but personally, 10 seconds of my time isnt worth the 200 dollars.
__________________
Mac G4 Conversion
--++==100% Complete==++--
Mac G4 Case
AMD AthlonXP 3000+
Biostar MicroATX KT400
512Mb Crucial DDR
Radeon 9600 Pro 256mb
-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Total Build Time: 23 Hours

Current System Specs
--++Thermaltake
Tsunami Black Case++--
Radeon x800 Pro 256mb PCI-e
1.5 Gb DDR400
AMD64 3500+
-========-========-
JLobes is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 02:32 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 300
Send a message via AIM to Shannon Send a message via Yahoo to Shannon
Default

I usually use 20-30gb partition for the OS, and save everything else on the secondary drives, etc.

I have recently checked this out, and it seems that the 250gb drives are the best value as far as price per capacity.
Shannon is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 04:00 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 5
Default

Well, my thinking was that if I were to get that new 512 pci express vid card, and do an amd 3#00 with 2 gig ram, I would feel better knowing the HD was making things run that much smoother.

But on the other hand, if my 40gig 4mb/8000rpm seagate hd has flaws in craftmanship, and the most common cause for a hd to become cluttered with bad sectors was the cylinder bumping into the internals, then me getting a Faster hd regardless of cache would just make things worse.

This has been very uplifting. I think I will just go with another 40 gig with a larger cache. I have no need for any more then 40 gigs. All I run are fps games, photoshop, . . thats about it
claynation is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 05:16 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

75Mhz for 1995? wow, computers have gone a long way since '95!
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.