Old Gateway POS - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-06-2004, 05:52 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 754
Send a message via AIM to slvrstang
Default Old Gateway POS

well, i have an old gateway

600E mhz P3

128mb ram

well anyways, it crapped out on me

Both CD drives have failed (i tried them in my current computer and neither would work)

Also when i hook them up to the old gateway, the bios says that nothing is hooked up...not even the HD

I have tried many settings in the IDE tab and i cannot get the bios to recognize anything. Also the drive is clean formatted so it has no OS, and i can't even install one because it won't recognize it.

Do you think the IDE controller on the mobo went kapoot?

I'm not even sure if its worth it to buy a new mobo ~100$ if thats the case.

It would be nice to just have a kazaa/mp3/aim machine tho.
__________________

__________________

Q6600 G0 @ 3.80ghz
MCR-320-->Dtek Fuzion V2-->Dtek Fuzion GFX2-->Swiftech MCP-655-->
Asus P5K deluxe
4x1gb Crucial Ballistix @ 846mhz 5-5-5-15
8800GT
3x 250gb HDDs
Hiper 580w
Coolermaster 690 w/ water cooling mods
3dmark06 - 15,602
SuperPi 1M - 12.421s
slvrstang is offline  
Old 07-06-2004, 03:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 754
Send a message via AIM to slvrstang
Default

nothin?
__________________

__________________

Q6600 G0 @ 3.80ghz
MCR-320-->Dtek Fuzion V2-->Dtek Fuzion GFX2-->Swiftech MCP-655-->
Asus P5K deluxe
4x1gb Crucial Ballistix @ 846mhz 5-5-5-15
8800GT
3x 250gb HDDs
Hiper 580w
Coolermaster 690 w/ water cooling mods
3dmark06 - 15,602
SuperPi 1M - 12.421s
slvrstang is offline  
Old 07-06-2004, 03:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: /usr/root/mn/us
Posts: 1,118
Default

That could definatelly be it. You can get PCI ide cards. I just bought one to expand my storage.

One on Newegg for $32
__________________

Its a frigging Laptop, not a Labtop!!!!
bla!! is offline  
Old 07-06-2004, 05:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 116
Default

try changing the ide cables get new ide cables...
Vnet is offline  
Old 07-07-2004, 02:24 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 754
Send a message via AIM to slvrstang
Default

the IDE cables have been switched out many times, and why would i spend 32$ on a PCI IDE controller when i can buy the motherboard for 34$?
__________________

Q6600 G0 @ 3.80ghz
MCR-320-->Dtek Fuzion V2-->Dtek Fuzion GFX2-->Swiftech MCP-655-->
Asus P5K deluxe
4x1gb Crucial Ballistix @ 846mhz 5-5-5-15
8800GT
3x 250gb HDDs
Hiper 580w
Coolermaster 690 w/ water cooling mods
3dmark06 - 15,602
SuperPi 1M - 12.421s
slvrstang is offline  
Old 07-07-2004, 02:51 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 754
Send a message via AIM to slvrstang
Default

i used the pci IDE card and it now recognizes them both but i can't get it to boot from the CD and it is the first in the boot list...any help?
__________________

Q6600 G0 @ 3.80ghz
MCR-320-->Dtek Fuzion V2-->Dtek Fuzion GFX2-->Swiftech MCP-655-->
Asus P5K deluxe
4x1gb Crucial Ballistix @ 846mhz 5-5-5-15
8800GT
3x 250gb HDDs
Hiper 580w
Coolermaster 690 w/ water cooling mods
3dmark06 - 15,602
SuperPi 1M - 12.421s
slvrstang is offline  
Old 07-07-2004, 10:15 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: /usr/root/mn/us
Posts: 1,118
Default

Dunno, just trying to give you some options. In the end, everything on these forums is up to you whether to do or not.

I also do recall you saying that a new mobo would cost "~$100 "
__________________

Its a frigging Laptop, not a Labtop!!!!
bla!! is offline  
Old 07-08-2004, 02:34 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 754
Send a message via AIM to slvrstang
Default

i tried installing again and got the same

clspack.exe message

i just skipped that and a bunch of java files

and the install completed with no problems and is now running XP like a charm


I guess Clspack.exe and the java files aren't very important?

Yay for the kazaa machine of DOOOOM.
__________________

__________________

Q6600 G0 @ 3.80ghz
MCR-320-->Dtek Fuzion V2-->Dtek Fuzion GFX2-->Swiftech MCP-655-->
Asus P5K deluxe
4x1gb Crucial Ballistix @ 846mhz 5-5-5-15
8800GT
3x 250gb HDDs
Hiper 580w
Coolermaster 690 w/ water cooling mods
3dmark06 - 15,602
SuperPi 1M - 12.421s
slvrstang is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.