Old Dell XPS, want to upgrade a bit. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-23-2005, 10:12 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

What does the socket say? Does it say LGA370? Cause thats the socket for PIIIs. You can also look up all this information from dell by typing your product number in their support page. The product number is a sticker on the back of your computer.

Finally, I have to say that idiotec is right. I contacted customer support a few weeks ago and asked them if they modified their mobos to accept only dell ram. They responded by saying that I could use any ram from any compnay as long as it was 184 pin DDR.

P.S. Check to see the maximum ram allowed on your motherboard. Some motherboards only allow 2 sticks of 256, while others will allow 2 sticks of 512. Also, don't overdo things. Getting the 6600GT for your old pIII dell is a waste. FX5900 should do.
__________________

Hacp is offline  
Old 06-23-2005, 10:26 PM   #12 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,301
Default

Quote:
Getting the 6600GT for your old pIII dell is a waste. FX5900 should do.
dude if hes gonna spend the money to get a 5900 then he might as well buy a 6600GT. Dont you guys realize how much 5900's are? they are way over priced still so get a 9600XT and it will run good. hell get a 50$ 9550 lol. what ever you do dont et a 5900 cause its just to much money on a crap (or what ever you wanna call it) computer.
__________________

PP Mguire is offline  
Old 06-23-2005, 10:52 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by P.P. Mguire
dude if hes gonna spend the money to get a 5900 then he might as well buy a 6600GT. Dont you guys realize how much 5900's are? they are way over priced still so get a 9600XT and it will run good. hell get a 50$ 9550 lol. what ever you do dont et a 5900 cause its just to much money on a crap (or what ever you wanna call it) computer.
The 9xxx ATI cards are good and did out perform the 5xxxFX series. So something from that range might not be bad. The 9600Xt is actually a really good choice.
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 12:26 AM   #14 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,301
Default

Quote:
The 9600Xt is actually a really good choice.
my mom has a 9600XT and i know what it can do. i only wish i had it
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 03:39 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default

Where can i find the serial #?
woot7800GT is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 03:41 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default

UV1XQ, I think that's it.
woot7800GT is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 07:33 PM   #17 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Here's a link to your original system specs:
http://support.dell.com/support/topi...n&s=dhs&~tab=2

Your model # is: Dimension XPS T___

The brown slot is an AGP slot.
Quote:
Video 2X AGP video card
Sorry to be the bearer of bad news.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 03:41 PM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default

So, would I be better off getting a PCI gpu or the 2x AGP?
__________________

woot7800GT is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.