old computer use - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-12-2005, 02:07 PM   #11 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

ok good

is it a video chipset or a video card?
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 11-12-2005, 02:10 PM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by talldude123
ok good

is it a video chipset or a video card?
I don't know, what's the difference?
__________________

__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 11-12-2005, 02:11 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 53
Default

Yeah that would be a nice setup with 98 if you could access your server HD to get the files off from it and onto your real computer.
kcrknp is offline  
Old 11-12-2005, 02:18 PM   #14 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

a video chipset is integrated on your motherboard

a video card is a PCI card that is completely seperate

video chipsets are on every new computer now.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 11-12-2005, 04:32 PM   #15 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default

Ok I'm pretty sure it's a card.
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 11-12-2005, 04:44 PM   #16 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

you have to make sure that the card can support as least 800*600 16-color, but im sure it does
talldude123 is offline  
Old 11-12-2005, 04:46 PM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default

ya right now it is runnung at 1280 x 1024 32 bit color
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 11-12-2005, 09:21 PM   #18 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

thats really good for a 5-year old system!
talldude123 is offline  
Old 11-12-2005, 10:29 PM   #19 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default

its 6 years will be 7 in january
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 11-12-2005, 10:51 PM   #20 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

ok, so its from 1998

i still have my celeron 533 from december 1999, but i just have windows 2000 on it, i use it for games..

i loved it back in 2000, you would be able to run a computer with only 64 MB of ram, and xp wasnt even thought of yet
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.