Old computer boot from CD - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-04-2005, 10:04 PM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,538

hey, your gonna either need to boot that linux up and use fdisk on the hard drive OR get a 3rd party app to remove linux from it, windows WILL NOT do it,the windows version of fdisk wont touch non windows partitions

I have a box full of simms, Im giving em away, just postage to mail them, if you end up needing some just make sure your mobo uses 72pin simms and not the ancient 30pin ones

horndude is offline  
Old 06-04-2005, 10:20 PM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS

Thanks for making me reliase that 30 pin sticks are SIMM's Yeah those are ancient and i got a few laying around

And yeah, as explained old PC's dont boot from CD-ROM's, it's real annoying

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 06-05-2005, 02:55 AM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Nitestick's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473

win2k on a p-75. i would not even dare trying it. i wouldnt try anything beyond win 98se. or else keep linux. win98 needs 32mb to be bearable.
Visit my website - nitestick.net
"Guitar is cool. If you donít think the guitar is cool, then youíre stupid. And I will fight you! " - Brendon Small
I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages
You can contact me for Forum related issues via PM only.

Nitestick is offline  
Old 06-05-2005, 05:08 AM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 5

Hi strategist333,
Thanks... do you have any idea where I could find such a boot disk? DOS 6.22's CD drivers don't work.
Check out following articles for boot disk.

For Windows 98


For Windows 2000,


For Windows XP,


Thanks & regards

sumukh is offline  
Old 06-06-2005, 05:13 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 103

Thanks for all your help... Win 2K requires 32 MB RAM as a requirement, so I couldn't install it anyway; then.. the upgraded hard drive appears to be unable to format, so I have to revert back to my original harddrive... all I can install now is NT4. Now doesn't that just make my day?

strategist333 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:24 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.