ok. ppl. i really need your help. Processor - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-05-2004, 01:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 155
Default ok. ppl. i really need your help. Processor

I built my own system about 3 weeks ago. I thought i did a great job, but now the mistakes are showing up.

the specs are as follow (these are teh components I put in):

P4 2.8GHz at 533MHz FSB w/ 512 KB cache
NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200 128MB DDR, 405 mem, 250 core
160GB 7200RPM WD hardrive w/ 8.9ms seektime

These are the problems I have (with all of these)

Problem I:
I just ran 3dMark03 and I noticed in the results that my CPU is running at 133MHz FSB. I know the motherboard (P4X400 Platinum Soyo Dragon Motherboard (garbage if you ask me)) supports a FSB of 533, but apparently I did not set it that way. If you could just tell me how to do that (i'm guessing through BIOS), I'd be forever grateful.

Problem II:
Also, the NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200, which is supposed to run 8x AGP, displays under AGP memory (in the 3dMark03 results) as 0. Once again, i know the mobo can handle a 8x AGP, but apparently I once again installed it wrong. cuz i got a score of like 1060 on it, which I know is garbage.

Problem III:
Then there's the harddrive. I read something in the manual that it wouldn't be supported over 149GB w/o a IDE ATA controller or something of the kind. Now for some dumb reason i thought that was hardware the computer was not equiped w/, but apparently it was. now how can i set it up to work (so XP can recognize it to be 160GB) w/o losing the data on my harddrive?

well thanks a bunch and i hope I get a solution for at least the first two

umybiatch2k6 is offline  
Old 07-05-2004, 02:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 517
Send a message via AIM to YourPrinter

your problems arent problems at all
I- Your Bus Speed is 133 because pentium 4 b's fsb is 133x4=532 but its really 533
II-Why are your 3dmark03's scores so low? because the 5200 is a budget video card with your setup and that video card 1060 seems about right
III im not sure what your talking about

YourPrinter is offline  
Old 07-05-2004, 04:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543

"Why are your 3dmark03's scores so low? because the 5200 is a budget video card with your setup and that video card 1060 seems about right"

That is right, if you want a FX series card do something 5600 or higher. Although ATi is better with the 9000 series cards, go with one of them.
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5

No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:54 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.