Ok, I'm an idiot.. please help me decide - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-14-2005, 12:03 AM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

Nubius you think one day i might be able to handle a DFI with my limited know how? lol
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 12:14 AM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

One day grasshoppa you will be swift like a winter cold front in december
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 07:38 AM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

I need a DFI board, asus boards p*sses me off, not enough voltage, however it was running at 290 without any voltage increase and the hypertransport x5

And where have you gotten ANY info of DFI releasing another nforce 3 board, I thought you could also use AGP with nforce4.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-15-2005, 01:17 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 499
Default

Thanks for the info, everyone.

I went with the Gigabyte because since it was cheap.. only real problem is it doesn't support AMD "cool n quiet" which previously saved me about 6 degrees C due to voltage moderation.

To make up for it I bought the Tornado 80 mm fan with a 84.1 CFM for my exhaust and put another case fan on to bring in cool air. I also bought rounded IDE/FDD cables (not to mention 80 mm rubber dampeners to quiet the fans - especially the tornado - down).

BTW, my previous board was the Abit AV8. Not sure if I'll notice a real difference between the VIA and the nforce3.. but I guess I'll find out.

Thanks again for the info.
__________________
<a href=\"http://www.democracynow.org\"><img src=\"http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y165/smileygladhands/linkbanner468x60.gif\" border=\"0\"></a>
\"All over the place, from the popular culture to the propaganda system, there is constant pressure to make people feel that they are helpless, that the only role they can have is to ratify decisions and to consume.\" -Noam Chomsky
smileygladhands is offline  
Old 04-15-2005, 03:42 PM   #15 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
And where have you gotten ANY info of DFI releasing another nforce 3 board, I thought you could also use AGP with nforce4.
http://www.dfi-street.com/forum/showthread.php?t=5112

I believe there is no nforce4 AGP board dude, that's the whole point of nforce4 I think is purely for PCI-E and whatnot
Nubius is offline  
Old 04-15-2005, 07:46 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 187
Default

ok, just wanted to add a comment about the discussion about Asus at the beginning. i recently bought an Asus K8N-E Deluxe motherboard. First off, it was a pain to install, as they provide the worst technical diagrams i have ever seen of the motherboard. i tryed calling tech support twice and both times they asked what the problem was and that they would "call me back tomorrow" which never happened either time. Also, for some reason, no BIOS version above 1.02 works for my mobo. furthermore, the instant music feature and other "special features" this motherboard contains don't work. Overall, i'll never ever buy Asus again. I paid $175 for the top motherboard on tigerdirect.com and got junk. never again...
bobafett573 is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 04:19 PM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 499
Default

From what I understand regarding AGP vs PCI-E is that the increased bus bandwidth doesn't necessarily increase transfer speeds. Sort of like AGP 8 & 16 only "widened the road but the objects traveling on it weren't moving any faster" sort-of analogy.

Anyways, I hope they'll continue to make AGP cards for a few more years.
__________________
<a href=\"http://www.democracynow.org\"><img src=\"http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y165/smileygladhands/linkbanner468x60.gif\" border=\"0\"></a>
\"All over the place, from the popular culture to the propaganda system, there is constant pressure to make people feel that they are helpless, that the only role they can have is to ratify decisions and to consume.\" -Noam Chomsky
smileygladhands is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 05:49 PM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default

Gigabyte Mobo's are great. i got one for my 3200 with the Nforce3 250 Chipset and it kick ***. it works just as it should out of the box. all i had to do it plug everything in and put it in my case. boot up, everything is just peechy! you won't be dissapointed with your gigabyte purchase.

about AGP and PCI-E i'm with you smileygladhands. but by the time i need a new video card, i'll already have a new mobo. so i'm not going to worry. and the next generation of video cards will have AGP support. at least for the midrange cards that is.
__________________

Mr. Switch is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.