oh sexy thing! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-10-2005, 04:39 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 203
Send a message via AIM to CyToToXiC Send a message via Yahoo to CyToToXiC

4 moniters may be usufull while working, but u need a really beefy computer.

Aspire X-Dreamer case
Asus A7NX8-E
AMD Athlon XP 3200+**
Soundblaser Audigy 2 ZS
Geforce NX6600 GT
2 WD 120 GB Hard Drives**

**sitting MIA in some warehouse
CyToToXiC is offline  
Old 08-10-2005, 05:50 PM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS

Originally posted by CyToToXiC
4 moniters may be usufull while working, but u need a really beefy computer.
No, you wouldnt need a beefy computer for 4.

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 08-10-2005, 07:08 PM   #13 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Nubius's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600

yeah, and i talk on MSN on one monitor and surf the web on the other.
That's what minimize is for....and it keeps me from having to shift my eyes/head

Anyone ever see that movie swordfish? They had a computer system setup with like 6 monitors in a room lol...looked cool...I might do something like that if I was rich but I'd have no real need for it
Nubius is offline  
Old 08-10-2005, 08:05 PM   #14 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
HAVOC's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC

3 to 4 monitors is great for flight sims that support multimonitor setups. It's also perfect for large scale production teams. Specifically for those who use MAYA.

But, 4 monitors for you and I is pointless, not to mention... a ton of cash...
HAVOC is offline  
Old 08-10-2005, 08:28 PM   #15 (permalink)
PC Cutie ^_^
Seria's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 553

I use 2 LCD's and I love them. I use my duel screens to see more of the image im working on in Photoshop.

I think 2 screens are plenty and 4 would be a pain in the neck... literally.

I would however, like to have 4 screens if they could be stacked. I would rather have a big screen than a long screen... But that┬ĺs just me.
Seria is offline  
Old 08-10-2005, 09:06 PM   #16 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

Trotter's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 30,954

Four screens in a 2x2 configuration would be nice... just don't use a stand (have the bottom edge level with the desktop).

Integrated may use RAM and CPU cycles, but if you can use it to get four, all I can say is "Way Cool!!!" Besides, it has ATi RADEON XPRESS 200 onboard... not too shabby.

Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / EVGA GTX 760 2GB
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB / WD Red 3TB
G.SKILL Ripjaws 2x2GB DDR3 1600 - Crucial Ballistix Tracer 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win7 Ult 64-bit - Func MS3 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard

R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 08-10-2005, 10:18 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 711

well my neighbor uses 8 monitors, his work involves some top secret stuff, ive been in his office and he has some super computer badass stuff man, i think hes a fed, each screen has a different computer unning on it he has 8 hard drives all running OS of it own so he has a server with the computers in one. he has data on one a regular computer screen and a like satalite telecom response thjing on the other and this photo identifying thing and credit card process program thing hes crazy. but maybe this has nothin to do with the original thread, i got carried away, i wish i could get a pic of it, but i might get shoot and stuff if i do, ill be considered an enemy of the country then

├ŽArchOAngel├Ž is offline  
Old 08-11-2005, 02:20 AM   #18 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782


Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:29 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.