Oh NO - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-20-2005, 03:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 226
Send a message via AIM to xAznPrid3x
Default Oh NO

ok i took apart my PII processer and i put my monitoring probe in the middle of the cpu and heat sink and then my comp messed up like it turns on by itself and nuthing shows on the monitor.....i opened everything up and found that the tip of the monitoring probe like melted and it wondent read on the monitoring system but when i cut off the melted part on the probe it started showing up on the monitor but it wasnt reading because i cut the hole wire off.....so i took it out and it turns on but nuthing shows up.....i cant even turn it off without unpluging it....i dono if this is right but if you dont have the cpu in it wont turn on but if you do it does?????btw i put the cpu on for like 2 seconds and it got extremly hott..i was told i fried only the cpu..so all imdoing is im going to borrow my friends cpu and see if its the problem
__________________

xAznPrid3x is offline  
Old 04-20-2005, 03:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 587
Send a message via AIM to Sport1031
Default

Dude the PII processor is worth like a quarter. If sure you can find a real cheap replacement on eBay.
__________________

Sport1031 is offline  
Old 04-20-2005, 03:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 226
Send a message via AIM to xAznPrid3x
Default

dude i want only asking for your answer!
xAznPrid3x is offline  
Old 04-20-2005, 03:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 499
Default

He's right.. I found one on ebay with a starting bid of $5.00.
Buy 5 of them and keep trying 'til you get it right.
__________________
<a href=\"http://www.democracynow.org\"><img src=\"http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y165/smileygladhands/linkbanner468x60.gif\" border=\"0\"></a>
\"All over the place, from the popular culture to the propaganda system, there is constant pressure to make people feel that they are helpless, that the only role they can have is to ratify decisions and to consume.\" -Noam Chomsky
smileygladhands is offline  
Old 04-20-2005, 05:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default

Why do you have a P2?
woot7800GT is offline  
Old 04-20-2005, 10:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 226
Send a message via AIM to xAznPrid3x
Default

ohh nvm i had a spare..... the reason why i have PII because the comp was given to me for FREE and and im just adding **** to it..and im a cheap basterd...if i can find a A64 for under 100 prob use ill be glad.
__________________

xAznPrid3x is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.