Oh Crap...Chip Getting Hott! What To Do? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-05-2004, 07:35 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

WHOA! I have the same problem. My CPU temp. sensor says that I am running at an average of 60 degrees celcius AT IDLE! And that's when it is not overclocked. False readings maybe? Oh yes, and I have updated my BIOS, and the temp. got higher! Unbelievable...

-Dan The Man
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 11-05-2004, 08:07 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 330
Default

Ive had this problem countless times with customers and friends.

Most people with heat problems are using a AMD chip but in your case our using a top notch pentium proccesor.

Make sure that your heatsink has heat tranparency jell on the bottom of it, next check that your fan isnt running on the slow side.
If all checks well make sure you have enough case fans(2 or more),if you dont this can lead to extreme heat build up and take a toll on all of your hardware. If you dont have 2 or more fans dont go through all the trouble buying a new case re-installing the hardware etc. Heres what you do if you dont have 2 or more case fans--- Go to www.xoxide.com and there should be a side category on your left hand side, then one of them should say "case fans" click on that then it should say a bunch of diffrent fans,scroll down, and click on "miscilaneous fans" now it will show a range of pci port fans---what these fans do is instead of just blowing on things they suck all the hot air out of your case/computer and blow it out the back. Theese fans are inexpensive ($7-$12) and work very well. E-mail me and let me now how it goes at amdboy@comcast.net
__________________

Amd64Boy is offline  
Old 11-05-2004, 08:49 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 76
Send a message via AIM to DavidWatersUGP
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by OIDanTheManIO
WHOA! I have the same problem. My CPU temp. sensor says that I am running at an average of 60 degrees celcius AT IDLE! And that's when it is not overclocked. False readings maybe? Oh yes, and I have updated my BIOS, and the temp. got higher! Unbelievable...

-Dan The Man
Wow lol...the program says about 55 or a little low at idle...but in BIOS it's a little more...like 60. I think I've seen it at almost 70 in BIOS...and currently the program I'm using says 57. I think it's a matter of that gell....I literally don't have on there...just a tiny bit.

What did you do to fix the problem then? lol
__________________
<a href=\"http://www.ultimategp.com/\">Ultimate Gaming Performance</a>

<font color=\"BLUE\">Intel Pentium 4 <b>3.2Ghz</b> (1MB L2 Cache, 800Mhz FSB)
</font> <font color=\"RED\"><b>Hyper-Threading Technology</b></font><font color=\"BLUE\">
ECS Motherboard
256MB DDR RAM by Crosshair
nVidia GeForce2 MX/MX 400 (64MB)
Maxtor 120GB Ultra Series Hard Drive (7200RPM)
Maxtor 30GB Hard Drive (7200RPM)
DavidWatersUGP is offline  
Old 11-05-2004, 08:52 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

I didn't! I'm still trying to figure it out!

-Dan The Man
__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 11-06-2004, 12:54 AM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 76
Send a message via AIM to DavidWatersUGP
Default

Well you know AMD Chips run hotter, I believe. It might be normal...not sure though
__________________
<a href=\"http://www.ultimategp.com/\">Ultimate Gaming Performance</a>

<font color=\"BLUE\">Intel Pentium 4 <b>3.2Ghz</b> (1MB L2 Cache, 800Mhz FSB)
</font> <font color=\"RED\"><b>Hyper-Threading Technology</b></font><font color=\"BLUE\">
ECS Motherboard
256MB DDR RAM by Crosshair
nVidia GeForce2 MX/MX 400 (64MB)
Maxtor 120GB Ultra Series Hard Drive (7200RPM)
Maxtor 30GB Hard Drive (7200RPM)
DavidWatersUGP is offline  
Old 11-06-2004, 05:09 AM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 321
Default

i'd suggest taking the thermal pad off and putting some arctic silver 5. if u need instructionz, u can get them from these gurus.
__________________
|New|Gaming|System|2|Be|:

AMD 64 bit 3500+ Socket 939
MSI K8N Neo 2 Plat. Socket 939 mobo
Corsair TWINX1024-3200 RAM
Nvidia GeForce 6800 GT Graphic Card
Altec Lansing 5051 Speaker system
Creative Sound Blaster live 7.1
Maxtor SATA 200Gb HDD
Plextor PX-712A DVD±R/RW Drive
Wired Mouse/Keyboard by Logitech
Samsung 795MB Flat Screen CRT
Raidmax Scorpio 868W Casing
Antec Truepower 430 or 480
Thermaltake (Pipe101) Heatsink
Thermaltake Street Fighter Fan
derfist is offline  
Old 11-06-2004, 10:23 AM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 332
Send a message via ICQ to gizmo90
Default

make sur u dont put on too much though...it'l werk against ya!
__________________
Want a Gmail invitation?? Email me at gizmo90@gmail.com

Funny or Stupid Videos...u choose!
gizmo90 is offline  
Old 11-06-2004, 10:26 AM   #18 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 45
Send a message via ICQ to ph@ntom Send a message via AIM to ph@ntom
Default

Get a water cooling system
Or you can open up your box for better ventilation...
I also tried stickin it out into the cold right into the snow.... It increased the preformance by so much!
__________________
WooSUP Tech & Gaming Forums
Get some FREE WEBSPACE! on WooSUP.com
ph@ntom is offline  
Old 11-06-2004, 10:39 AM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 264
Send a message via AIM to Rizinc4
Default

To put on the thermal compound (arctic silver 5) you want to remove the heatsink, and scrap off the thermal compound that was used orginally by the manufacture. You can do this with a credit card, or something similar! If worse comes to worse you can run a hair-dryer over it for just a moment to heat it up, which may make it easier to remove the compound, just a moment though. After all of the compound is removed. DON'T go crazy with the compound, just a small dot. Smaller than a pea. You want to spread this it either using your finger (protected by a rubber glove) or a credit card, or something along these lines. You want a PAPER thin layer. Litterally... using more will come back and bite you right in the a$$. GL!
Rizinc4 is offline  
Old 11-06-2004, 11:54 AM   #20 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 76
Send a message via AIM to DavidWatersUGP
Default

Alright...thanks for the advice everyone! I'll see about getting some Arctic Silver 5 soon. Also...I've opened the sides of my case for now...that has helped a little bit.

Thanks Again

David
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://www.ultimategp.com/\">Ultimate Gaming Performance</a>

<font color=\"BLUE\">Intel Pentium 4 <b>3.2Ghz</b> (1MB L2 Cache, 800Mhz FSB)
</font> <font color=\"RED\"><b>Hyper-Threading Technology</b></font><font color=\"BLUE\">
ECS Motherboard
256MB DDR RAM by Crosshair
nVidia GeForce2 MX/MX 400 (64MB)
Maxtor 120GB Ultra Series Hard Drive (7200RPM)
Maxtor 30GB Hard Drive (7200RPM)
DavidWatersUGP is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.