Official - My New Rig Building Thread!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

toogreen

Baseband Member
HI! I finally got my computer built and have powered up like 10 times but have one big problem, Hard Drive. This is the hard drive i purchased and here are my other specs...
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Socket 939
Asus K8V Deluxe
eVGA 6600GT
Kingmax 512 x2 DDR400
Dual Layer DVD RW
Generic Floppy

Anyway, when starting its boots up and starts scanning IDE drives after 2 other screens and then comes up No Array Defined. This is then followed by a screen saying NO Hard Disk Drive Detected. I am a exreme novice at computer building and only got this far with the help of my friend. He pieced the thing together but still didn't figure it all out. For example the case came with 2 usb internal connectors and some audio connectors and we had no idea were they went and did not connect them anywere. On the back of the Hard Drive, I have the SATA cable hooked in the back but not neccersarily in the right place on the motherboard. There is another cord hooked up to the back witch i am not sure were it is connected to ( can check later ). The thing I am wondering about is there is a 4 pin slot with nothing connected to it in the back, but I have no idea what goes there. I thought it was a power supply hook up, but the one I thought does not fit the slot due to excess plastic. So I would REALLY appreciate help and I am clueless and bought my HD OEM so i have no handbook or even a box. Thanks in advance.

Read the Motherboard Manual it will tell you where to plug in your sata drive. I'm not sure what cord you are talking about thats hooked up to the back..It is a usb bracket..? And for the rest of the audio and usb internal motherboard connector check the manual...that will tell you what pin goes where ect..Get someone that is good at pc's to connect them up for you if you can.