oem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-06-2005, 10:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 221
Default oem

when talking about cpu's what is oem?
__________________

rcsavageboy is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 10:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

an oem cpu will come with the cpu only, no instructions or heatsink or fan.

OEM means original equipment manufacturer if u were wondering.
__________________

__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 10:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 221
Default

ok so when it says retail does it include all that stuff? not that i need it



also. is there like a chart that explains how diffrent cores do diffrent things better than other cores?
rcsavageboy is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 10:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 135
Default

if you know what you are doing, you will probably save 50$ from buying OEM instead of Retail, this also allows you to get a better heatsink than the one that is stock (I.E. a lead weight for fishing lmao )
Panther5060 is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 10:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 221
Default

im in the tech support at my school so we rebuild computers and replace cpu's all the time. what skills should i have to be able to buy the oem?
rcsavageboy is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 10:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

well its just different names, but the units are the same, lol

its just a difference in cache, and wat technology it uses(size in Nm)

but i dont have a chart to compare.

basically, more cache is better for server purpose, or video editing, stuff like that.

the size in Nm will change how far u can OC the chip. the lower the better
__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 10:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

no skill required, just need to know how to choose a good hsf and how to mount it.
__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 10:14 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 135
Default

wha...

oem has nothing to do with how much cache the cpu has.

its how the same cpu is sold in 2 different packages.

k if you are installing an oem cpu, its just like installing a retail cpu, you need to have your fan/heatsink, thermal compound, and well... the cpu

only difference is you have to buy these seperatly. you still save money though so go with the oem

*EDIT* didnt see that msg above asking about cores, my bad... boy i feel stupid
Panther5060 is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 10:14 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 221
Default

very noob question. hsf?
rcsavageboy is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 10:15 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 221
Default

i believe he was talking about diffrent cores
__________________

rcsavageboy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.