Odd texture maps for Halo demo - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-19-2004, 08:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 725
Default Odd texture maps for Halo demo

I have a 1.2GHz PIII Laptop with a 16MB ATI Mobility Radeon video card. While playing the Halo demo, I get seemingly random textures (orange and black lines) on walls ocasionally, almost exclusively in interior segments. Things like enemies and boxes and the like are unaffected. Any idea why this is happening and what I can do to fix it?
__________________

digitaloracle is offline  
Old 05-20-2004, 01:19 AM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 451
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by MicroBell
Minimum System Requirements for Halo..

Operating System: Microsoft Windows 98, Microsoft Windows Second Edition, Microsoft Windows Millennium Edition (Me), Microsoft Windows 2000, or Microsoft Windows XP.
Computer/Processor: 733 megahertz (MHz) processor.
DirectX: DirectX® 9.0 or later. (DirectX 9.0b is installed by Halo.)
Memory: 128 megabytes (MB) of RAM.
Hard Disk: 1.2 gigabytes (GB) of free hard disk space.
Video card: 32 MB with 3D Transform and Lighting capable.
CD: 8X.
Sound: Sound card, speakers, or headphones with multiplayer play.
*56.6 Kilobytes per second (KBps) modem or 10 MB network adapter. Multiplayer servers require broadband to run a server.
*Additionally, you must have an Internet Service provider (ISP) or a Local Area Network (LAN), if you want to play multi-player games.

Highlighted text...is most likely the cause. Surprised you can even run it. You can try another set of drivers...or turn off all the other features to see if it helps the issue.
In other words, buy a new video card!

That one is ancient, no wonder it cant play it correctly!
__________________

Chubz is offline  
Old 05-20-2004, 01:27 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Martin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,422
Default

A Mobility Radeon (laptop equivalent of the PC's Radeon 7000) is supported despite the fact it lacks a hardware TCL unit. You can try to remedy the graphics issues with updated drivers and an installation of DirectX 9.0b, but even at the lowest possible resolution with the lowest detail settings, I don't see how a playable frame rate can be achieved.
__________________
Martin's Page of Stuff

I judge you when you use poor grammar.
Martin is offline  
Old 05-20-2004, 07:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 725
Default

I don't see how it could run either, but it does. The random textures are annoying, but in a way they actually help gameplay by making it rediculously easy to see enemies.
__________________
AGP won\'t fit in PCI-E... unless you use a really good hammer. ~Trotter
digitaloracle is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.