Odd blue screen!!?!?! help! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-28-2005, 03:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 69
Send a message via AIM to Cold123
Default Odd blue screen!!?!?! help!

At the moment i am running my cpu at 1.83 ghz because when i go into bios and turn up my FSB to 200, which it should be at, after windows XP loads(the little bar on the bottom), i get a blue screen which says: A Problem has been detected and windows has shut down to prevent damage. A process or thread crucial to system operation has unexpectedly exited or terminated. It also say ssomething about disabling shadowing/cacheing in my bios menu but i cant find it anywhere. And on the bottom it tells me it is memory dumping. Can anyone help??

AMD Athlon XP 3200+(Brand New)
A-Bit nf7-s2g mobo(brand new)
768mb of DDR400 PC3200 RAM(Brand New)
__________________

Cold123 is offline  
Old 02-28-2005, 03:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 69
Send a message via AIM to Cold123
Default

Update:

Along with reading at 1.83 ghz, it also says my processor isa 2500+, which is incorrect, it was reading at 3200 before.

Also, the processor is supposed to run at 2.2ghz.
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ 2.2ghz Proc.
A-Bit NF7-S2G Mobo.
768mb DDR400 PC3200 RAM
Nvidia Geforce 6800GT
Cold123 is offline  
Old 02-28-2005, 04:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Try lowering your CPU multiplier alot (like half) and see if upping your FSB still causes bad stuff.

This wil determine if it's likely the CPU or likely something else.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 02-28-2005, 04:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 69
Send a message via AIM to Cold123
Default

how do i lower the multiplier?
__________________
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ 2.2ghz Proc.
A-Bit NF7-S2G Mobo.
768mb DDR400 PC3200 RAM
Nvidia Geforce 6800GT
Cold123 is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 05:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

I am walking this guy through some troubleshooting now

The bios on his board seems limited as well. The ram is running at 2.0 and we cant find a way to lower the rate.

BIOS doesnt let you do a step by step FSB, or change the multiplier. Neither does clockgen
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.