Nvidia VS ATI - Page 6 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-06-2005, 12:34 AM   #51 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

yeah true...
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 06-06-2005, 12:38 AM   #52 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Spaceballs Mega-Maid
Posts: 783
Send a message via AIM to RichM499 Send a message via Yahoo to RichM499
Default

Anyway back to my question, anyone know of any volt-mod resources on the net? Also, Whats the main difference between 6600 and 6600GT? Core differences? or just MHZ? cause i can always overclock it....
__________________

RichM499 is offline  
Old 06-06-2005, 12:41 AM   #53 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

the 6600 has half the pipelines of the 6600gt, and has a very low mem/core frequency

you'll never overclock the 6600 to anything close to the 6600gt

the point? 6600gt is the obvious choice, or the 6800gt if you got the extra dough to drop
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 06-06-2005, 12:42 AM   #54 (permalink)
I Rule You
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 543
Send a message via AIM to FadingTheory Send a message via Yahoo to FadingTheory
Default

MHz and memory. And you'll never overclock the 6600 enough.

And for gods sake, don't volt mod. Its risky, and I really don't think you should do it. He'll, I know hardware and how to solder boards, and I'd never consider it.

Besides, I don't think the 6600/6600GT would get enough of a boost to make it worth while.
__________________
Iraq... whee.
FadingTheory is offline  
Old 06-06-2005, 12:48 AM   #55 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Spaceballs Mega-Maid
Posts: 783
Send a message via AIM to RichM499 Send a message via Yahoo to RichM499
Default

Part of the reason that I want to volt mod is shear interest. I would LOVE to tinker around with it even if i can't get 1FPS out of Doom. Part of the reason that I have such an interest in computers is because as a kid I fixed it, even if it wasn't broke=) so its kind of in my nature to mess around with things that dont need to be messed around with. Also thanks for the information on the half pipes. Is there any way i can unlock the pipes as you can with some of the lower-end ATI models? or is it unheard of so far?
RichM499 is offline  
Old 06-06-2005, 12:53 AM   #56 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

if you love to unlock stuff, then you should google stuff about the 6800 vanilla (as in the regular 6600)

they should be around $200 and their pipelines can be unlocked from 12 to 16 (6800gt has 16) i think, i'm not sure; you should research it
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 06-06-2005, 12:56 AM   #57 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

you'll need to flash the video BIOS to that of the GT

use a program called NVFLASH.EXE, put it on a floppy, with the BIOS of a GT, and BACKUP YOUR ORIGINAL 6600 BIOS, then flash it with the GT's bios
if it works, then great!

if it doesn't work, create an autoexec.bat with the command to flash the BIOS back to the original one. then put the floppy in and boot. once you know it's finished, reboot
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 06-06-2005, 01:47 AM   #58 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by beedubaya
Yeah, Shader Model 3 is the brick and mortar of future games.
Copy and paste much?

I think brick and mortar is an overstatement. Brick generally is the foundation and mortar is important for keeping the bricks held together and securing the foundation. I think the bricks would be the physical hardware like the gpu and vram and other stuff. Now on to the mortar. Since mortar kid of holds the things together I would consider the mortar to be on the non-physical part of the video card, like software and drivers. I would consider the video card drivers and all that to make up the large portion of the mortar. I think pixel shader 3 sort of factors into the mortar but on a lower scale. I would consider the pixel shader 3 to be a little bit of paint. IT get's painted on the wall and adds a little flavor and a bit more prettiness to the picture. It's a part of the paint with all the other cute things like anisotropic filtering, anti-alising, alternating pixel centers, projectors, and all of those things. But I dont think it constitutes a large part of the paint.

So basically I don't think it's the brick and mortar, I think it's part of the paint on the house that is a video card. And I think if you reanalyze your comment now you will see that it is flawed according to known principles and facts about the nature of houses and brick and mortar.
__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 06-06-2005, 01:54 AM   #59 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

or you could say
Nvidia's 6000 series cards are put together and completed by PS 3.0
PS 3.0 is also put together by Nvidia's 6000 series cards
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 06-06-2005, 01:57 AM   #60 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Spaceballs Mega-Maid
Posts: 783
Send a message via AIM to RichM499 Send a message via Yahoo to RichM499
Default

Thank you dale, your probably the sole reason this thread is going to be closed. I had valid points and questions for the nice people of the forum, and you are clearly arguing with one of the moderators, which i dont think is wise. Im not going to flame anything you say but i dont appreciate your post because its not relative to the thread. I have another question before it finally gets closed, i heard that you can unlock some of the pipes from the 6800, so my question is.. does anyone have a link to a site where this has been done and documented? Thank you for all of your input! and i wish you all the best of luck with your computer-related problems!
__________________

RichM499 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.