nVidia GeForce 7800GTX - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-20-2005, 02:13 AM   #21 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

For SLI you need two exact PCI-E models and this little bridge chip that connects the top of them both to communicate.

I don't know where you're seeing people comparing SLI to one card, the only time I see it is in benches which isn't to say like "haha nvidia wins" but simply to show where each card stands.

Besides ATI will be coming out with their own form of SLI losers.....

EDIT: http://www.theinquirer.net/?article=23325

Updated G70 info....says PS3 will be around 550MHz core, so we can assume that the G70 will probably be around there as well, quite different from the 430 speculated in the previous specs in this thread, not only that, but 90nm architecture as well compared to 110nm listed in here.

Soooo basically god knows what this thing will actually be lol
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 05-20-2005, 12:27 PM   #22 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
TonCrafter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 879
Default

Is the new nvidia card gonna work with existing comps like mine?
__________________

__________________
Abit IP35 Pro
Core 2 Duo 2.2ghz
eVGA GTX460 1GB
2gig Crucial Ballistix Ram
PC Power & Cooling 510
------------------------------------------
2.33ghz Core 2 Duo Macbook Pro
TonCrafter is offline  
Old 05-20-2005, 02:25 PM   #23 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,294
Default

Lets just leave all these damn speculations alone and rumors and just wait till they comeout. even though it is funny cause ATI is pulling this "24 pipes" thing lol. thats hilarious. isnt the G70 supposed to have 32?
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 05-20-2005, 02:50 PM   #24 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 40
Default

they need to slow down, im loving my new x850xtpe card. i dont see myself upgrading my card for awhile. i bet those prices are going to be insane.
__________________
P4. 3.4ghz
Ultra heatsink&fan
ASUS P4P-800 Deluxe
74 gig Raptor HD
1GB Corsair Dual Channel XMS TWINX 2-2-2-5
Radeon X850XTPE AGP OCed to 579/600
Creative Sound Blaster Live 5.1 CH
ASPIRE X-Superalien Series Case
ASPIRE 500 Watt PSU
Sony Internal 16X DVD+/-R / Double Layer/DVD+/-RW Drive
Logitech X-530 5.1 Surround Sound
Planar PX191 19\" LCD Monitor

3DMARK05 Score: 6296
-[ZoU]-Kronos is offline  
Old 05-20-2005, 03:32 PM   #25 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by P.P. Mguire
Lets just leave all these damn speculations alone and rumors and just wait till they comeout. even though it is funny cause ATI is pulling this "24 pipes" thing lol. thats hilarious. isnt the G70 supposed to have 32?
If we didnt speculate and pick at eachother over rumors, we would have waaay too many boring threads
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-20-2005, 04:04 PM   #26 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
even though it is funny cause ATI is pulling this "24 pipes" thing lol. thats hilarious. isnt the G70 supposed to have 32
No, the G70 was said to have 24 and the R520 was the one who has "24" but those 24 are equivelant to 1.2 of todays standard pipelines so 24x1.2 = 32
Nubius is offline  
Old 05-20-2005, 04:10 PM   #27 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

The G70 has been said to have 32 as well

But none of this info is reliable
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-20-2005, 04:18 PM   #28 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

And where did you hear this from? Granted basically no info right now is at all reliable, I've heard nothing but 24 from every shred of info about the G70 thus far.
Nubius is offline  
Old 05-20-2005, 05:30 PM   #29 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,294
Default

i heard it had 32 pipes from beed, and it the extra pipes on r520 are supposed to be "virtual". BUUUTTT like i said earlyer quit arguin over somethign that aint out yet and over rumors. its rediculous.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 05-20-2005, 06:06 PM   #30 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

well like I said they aren't virtual pipes per se, they are supposed to be just a tad bit 'bigger' or 'better' than todays conventional pipes, so 1 of these 'newer' pipes is equivelant to 1.2 of todays pipes, so therefore 24 of those = "32 pipelines"

as far as the G70, I don't know, I've heard nothing but 24, but I'd sure hope nvidia would either have 32 or do the same thing as ATI with the whole "1.2" crap
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.