Nvidia FX 5200 Support - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-20-2005, 02:01 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 503
Default Nvidia FX 5200 Support

Hey guys,
I was having a browse through the SiSandra Software and was looking in my video card set-up. It says that my video card does not have an interrupt assigned. Then it goes on to say,

"Fix: Go to BIOS Setup\Settings\PCI & AGP Devices and set Assign IRQ to video card to yes. You may also try setting First Video Adapter setting to AGP. Some video cards may need to be configured to use an interrupt, either through an utility or a jumper."

However in my bios I cannot find that setting/ it isn't there (I'm running a Gigabyte GA-7s748 mobo). And I'm not entirely sure what to do with the whole jumper thing. Is there a program I can download to help assign an interrupt to the card? Also if one is assigned will the gfx card run any faster? and will the performance of the computer increase?

- Michael -
__________________

__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 *Cooled with Thermaltake Mini-Typhoon* || Intel Quad Core Q6600
Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3
2gb Kingston 667 DDR2 RAM || 4gb Kingston 667Mhz DDR2 RAM
Gigabyte 512mb 8800GTS (683/2150)
250gb Seagate HDD (ATA133) 7200rpm/16mb cache || 750gb SATA2 Seagate HDD
ASUS MW221U 22" Widescreen 2ms.
Logitech Z-5500D 5.1 Speakers
Creative X-fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty edition

3DMark06 Score = 8524 (1280x1024)
Syphanx is offline  
Old 04-20-2005, 07:42 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

If your not having problems it's most likely handling the interrupt properly, so run a benchmark like 3dmark03 for your card, if it works and you get average peformance dont worry about it
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-20-2005, 09:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 503
Default

Ok yeah well this is the performance I am getting... **** all.
I scored 1047 on the 3Dmark03 test. So something has to be going wrong there!

Help me out!
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 *Cooled with Thermaltake Mini-Typhoon* || Intel Quad Core Q6600
Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3
2gb Kingston 667 DDR2 RAM || 4gb Kingston 667Mhz DDR2 RAM
Gigabyte 512mb 8800GTS (683/2150)
250gb Seagate HDD (ATA133) 7200rpm/16mb cache || 750gb SATA2 Seagate HDD
ASUS MW221U 22" Widescreen 2ms.
Logitech Z-5500D 5.1 Speakers
Creative X-fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty edition

3DMark06 Score = 8524 (1280x1024)
Syphanx is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 09:33 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 139
Default

I have a similar system, but I have a XP (barton) 2800+ overclocked to 2.13ghz and 1gig of PC2100 RAM. I have the same video card. Although I have not benchmarked mine I am having no problems whatsoever. Probably the most graphics intensive game I have run on mine is Medal of Honor Pacific Assault and it runs flawlessly.

For some reason the 3DMark03 software will not install on my system. I can download it but it will not install? I have no idea why.
gospel is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 10:42 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Syphanx
Ok yeah well this is the performance I am getting... **** all.
I scored 1047 on the 3Dmark03 test. So something has to be going wrong there!

Help me out!
That's a pretty good score, and it didnt crash.

My 5200 on a 1.7ghz p4 was just under 800
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 11:20 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

???? FX 5200!!!! Aren't those real crappy?
__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 07:17 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 503
Default

yeah thanks desiboi that's my gfx card your talking about lol. Nah they are pretty average. I'm getting a new one soon. What's all this new technology where you can have two gfx cards running at once? SLI or something? I'm guessing that they both have to be the same brand of card i.e. ATI or Nvidia can't be one of each and they both run in the pci slots. Could you run a 6600GT and a 6800GT??? If anyone's got a link to a site which has more info on this new tech can you give it to me plz.

- Michael -
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 *Cooled with Thermaltake Mini-Typhoon* || Intel Quad Core Q6600
Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3
2gb Kingston 667 DDR2 RAM || 4gb Kingston 667Mhz DDR2 RAM
Gigabyte 512mb 8800GTS (683/2150)
250gb Seagate HDD (ATA133) 7200rpm/16mb cache || 750gb SATA2 Seagate HDD
ASUS MW221U 22" Widescreen 2ms.
Logitech Z-5500D 5.1 Speakers
Creative X-fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty edition

3DMark06 Score = 8524 (1280x1024)
Syphanx is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 07:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

one gfx card is enough, SLI is for ppl with money to burn

a 6600gt will handle all currenct games fine, but a 6800gt is newer and a lot better
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 09:01 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 139
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by desiboi
???? FX 5200!!!! Aren't those real crappy?
When you upgrade from a PCI geforce 2, nope, it ain't crappy at all. For $50 the 5200 ain't that bad.

Of course I also have mine overclocked.
gospel is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 09:14 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

lol. It's better than mine Syp. ATI doesn't have that SLI thingy majigy goin on.
__________________

__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.