nVidia firewall - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-10-2005, 09:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 587
Send a message via AIM to Sport1031
Default nVidia firewall

I have a Gigabyte GA-K8NF-9.

I know that my board supports nVidia hardware firewall, but I don't know if it's enabled or not. Is there a way to check or is it always on? I looked in the BIOS but couldn't find anything. Does anyone else know how the nVidia firewall works? I think it's on all nForce4 boards.
__________________

Sport1031 is offline  
Old 04-10-2005, 09:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 391
Default

You install the firewall with the chipset drivers CD.
__________________

__________________
NeoExtreme is offline  
Old 04-10-2005, 09:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Default

Ok. Personally, from what I've read, I wouldn't use the Nvidia firewall.

1) It seems to have problems running in conjunction with s/w firewalls (e.g. ZoneAlarm) - why is this important u ask?
2) Being a h/w firewall, I don't know how good it is at enforcing "internal" traffic security - as opposed to external (things coming in)
3) One guy on a security thread (on another forum - can't remember where) simply rename a leaktest to iexplore.exe and supposedly NV firewall had said "hey everything is great! Have a nice day and here is the internet for you to use". - classic example of not enforcing internal security rules properly (trojan problems). This is where s/w firewalls shine.
4) Don't have traffic logging capabilities

I am gonna go read up on this firewall if I have some time. But if you fellas know any more details or have comments about my points post away!
Chankama is offline  
Old 04-10-2005, 09:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 587
Send a message via AIM to Sport1031
Default

I looked there also and couldn't find it. Is it built in with something?
Sport1031 is offline  
Old 04-10-2005, 09:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

Sport I have the same mobo and I'm not too sure it supports it. I believe the ultra version does, but not the 4X version. You will probably see it mentioned on the box or manual because gigabyte just uses the same box/manual for both motherboards (ultra/4X).
__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 04-10-2005, 10:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Pff software firewalls are all garbage so dont worry, ran enough of them as well as hardware firewalls.


I am not saying the nvidia hardware firewall will work perfectly, but it is a great idea as it will protect better than a software, hardware firewalls are meant for smart people and keeping people out. Zonealarm keeps stuff from within and keeps it within as well.

If anyone finds software better than hardware, I will let ya have a crack at my firewall
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-10-2005, 11:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

I never have a problem with security on my computer. I just keep my anti-virus real-time monitors up, have DEP enabled for all programs, have boot-sector protection enabled, keep my spyware scanners active and I never have a problem. For firewalls I just leave windows firewall enabled along with an SPI hardware firewall in my router. I think one software firewall and one hardware firewall in your router is about as good of protection as you will get. Don't see why you need nvfirewall necessarily.
__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 04-11-2005, 01:25 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DJ-CHRIS

I am not saying the nvidia hardware firewall will work perfectly, but it is a great idea as it will protect better than a software, hardware firewalls are meant for smart people and keeping people out. Zonealarm keeps stuff from within and keeps it within as well.

If anyone finds software better than hardware, I will let ya have a crack at my firewall
Whoa dude! They "usually" have different purposes (s/w and h/w firewalls that is). If you can show me a reasonbly priced h/w firewall that can deal with trojans, I'll buy u a beer!.

Needless to say h/w firewalls are "better" if the do everything. Simply b/c they are running on an external device to the machine u are trying to project. But typically they have no idea as to which "application" is trying to connect to outside - could be a trojan for all we know.

ZoneAlarm for example takes a keyed hash of the executable file I believe when you approve it. So it's kinnda difficult to simply rename a file to try to get past ZoneAlarm. (I think this is correct - tell me if I am wrong).

H/w firewalls will tell u what port the connection is trying to come from. But, I don't believe it can tell which applcation is trying to form the connection itself.

As Dale said, it's good to have one of each. h/w and s/w. And supposedly NV h/w firewall has trouble working with a software counterpart :s.. Never tried it myself mind u. But, so I hear.
Chankama is offline  
Old 04-11-2005, 06:17 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Chankama
Whoa dude! They "usually" have different purposes (s/w and h/w firewalls that is). If you can show me a reasonbly priced h/w firewall that can deal with trojans, I'll buy u a beer!.

Needless to say h/w firewalls are "better" if the do everything. Simply b/c they are running on an external device to the machine u are trying to project. But typically they have no idea as to which "application" is trying to connect to outside - could be a trojan for all we know.

But why do we need to worry about a firewall handling trojans, a good hardware firewall and smart user, you will never get a trojan.

Is reasonably priced 500$ USD btw?
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-11-2005, 07:37 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 135
Default

why not just get an anti-trojan program, and have nvidias h/w firewall, and a h/w firewall on your router, rather interesting no?
__________________

Panther5060 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.