nVidia Drivers?!?!?! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-02-2005, 03:55 AM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 492
Send a message via AIM to ThePCmaN
Default

i dont know what temps are in Speedfan.. all it says is 1, 2, 3, etc..
__________________

__________________
<center>
<font color =\"blue\"><b><u>
AmD > Intel</u></b></font>
</center>
ThePCmaN is offline  
Old 08-02-2005, 04:03 AM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 492
Send a message via AIM to ThePCmaN
Default

Temp1 = 24C
Temp2 = 35C-37C
Temp3 = 30C
Local Temp = 32C
Remote Temp = 40C
HD0 = 36C
__________________

__________________
<center>
<font color =\"blue\"><b><u>
AmD > Intel</u></b></font>
</center>
ThePCmaN is offline  
Old 08-02-2005, 06:32 AM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 32
Default

I hate Nvidia drivers (IMO). Very buggy.

I have a PNY 5900 & I lose compatibility with Half-Life 2 if I try to use the BF2 demo driver or the current one.

I've been using the 71.89 driver and it is VERY stable (also IMO). I have not encountered a game that has crashed on me while using it. It is a little tricky finding the old Windows XP / 2000 drivers on Nvidia's site, but if you can find the archives (hint: GOOOOOGLE! it) you can find the 71.89 driver.

Combine that with NVtweak (coolbits 2.0) and you should be good to go.

Your card might be overheating, as to the crash. My 5900 is running at 450 / 900, vs stock 400 / 850 (with stock fan) and it does great in games, stability wise (performance is another story, that little prick hates Battlefield 2, and that is why I hate it right back. I have to play at 1024x768, medium textures, high texture filter (DO NOT PUT THE TEXTURE FILTER LOWER THAN HIGH IF YOU CAN, MAKES GAME MUCH HARDER!), no shadows, and low everything else to get good gameplay and FPS).

I used to have it at 450 / 950, but that pumps the ambient temperature (memory) up higher and I get artifacts frequently on heavy loads. When I down-clocked the memory to 900, it has not given me any complaints.
MasterShazbot is offline  
Old 08-02-2005, 07:39 AM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 492
Send a message via AIM to ThePCmaN
Default

hmm... well it shouldnt be over heating.. i never have OCed it, and im not going to.. i just built this PC at the start of this summer.. its clocked at like... 350/700 (128MB, 256-Bit).. i mean come on, its a 6800 OC - it shouldnt have problems running Guild Wars or w.e.. i was thinkin maybe my internet, but yet it runs fine if im not gaming.. but then again maybe my cable connection cant handle the gaming... hmm
__________________
<center>
<font color =\"blue\"><b><u>
AmD > Intel</u></b></font>
</center>
ThePCmaN is offline  
Old 08-02-2005, 10:11 AM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ThePCmaN
my power supply is nice too... Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480Watt w/ Wattviewer (all cables sleeved) its a nice PSU, plus i heard it was a good one.. so thats why i got it...

any other reasons why i might be laggin in games and getting ping above 100,200,300...
Ping is 100% determined by your network and the Internet, not your graphics card


MasterShazbot, you did install a BETA driver, as these things are for TESTING. Yes you are going to get problems, and yes it is your fault for installing beta drivers.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 08-02-2005, 08:28 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 32
Default

DJ-CHRIS: "MasterShazbot, you did install a BETA driver, as these things are for TESTING. Yes you are going to get problems, and yes it is your fault for installing beta drivers."

Did you read my thread correctly Chris?

MASTERSHAZBOT: "I've been using the 71.89 driver and it is VERY stable (also IMO). I have not encountered a game that has crashed on me while using it."

So what if it's a Beta driver, it works for every game I've thrown at it, and incredibly well. I've not had ANY problems with 71.89, why did you say I'm going to get problems? Did you have a bad experience with 71.89?

Of course it's my fault for installing the 71.89 driver and yes I know its a beta, does your video card pick and install its own drivers at will or something ?
__________________

MasterShazbot is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.