Nvidia 6800 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-27-2004, 01:41 AM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 11
Default

Seems like nVidia are going from one pain in the arse to the next.

What started with the NV30s and their double slot size, seems to have transformed into the requirement of two power inputs for the NV40s.

At least the card'll hopefully kick some arse graphics wise.
__________________

Vitriov is offline  
Old 05-02-2004, 11:42 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 149
Default

I've heard that only the ultra version takes 2 cables.
__________________

Northbridge is offline  
Old 05-03-2004, 12:11 AM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 43
Default

The Ultra will draw around 110 Watts!! That's more than today's average cpu processors.


Have a look at toms. Very good article about this card with benchmarks. ATI should shoot back pretty soon because the NV40 will really kick the 9800XT's ***!!

http://www20.tomshardware.com/graphi...e_6800-06.html

.fs.
__________________
Core2 Duo E6300
Asus P5B
2 X 1024 MB Kingston DDR2 800mhz
Asus GeForce 7600GT
fadedstar is offline  
Old 05-03-2004, 12:24 AM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 818
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Vitriov
Seems like nVidia are going from one pain in the arse to the next.

What started with the NV30s and their double slot size, seems to have transformed into the requirement of two power inputs for the NV40s.

At least the card'll hopefully kick some arse graphics wise.
The r420 by ATI looks faster on all prelim bench marks and doesnt seem to have any power requirements beyond one molex like all previous ones.
__________________


Apple, Mac OS , and Power PC
g5orbust is offline  
Old 05-03-2004, 01:56 AM   #15 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

are these PCI express or AGP cards?
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 05-03-2004, 02:00 AM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 424
Default

AGP
raiden_nrl is offline  
Old 05-03-2004, 02:33 AM   #17 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I'm assuming they'll be AGP 8x then?
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 05-03-2004, 02:34 AM   #18 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 424
Default

No both will be supported (AGP 8x 4x)
raiden_nrl is offline  
Old 05-03-2004, 06:36 AM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 439
Default

http://www.theinquirer.net/?article=15638
__________________

WQ87 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.