now what.. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-14-2005, 08:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 375
Default now what..

now that im finished planning what parts to get, i need to get ready to build this thing. i have A few questions....

1) what are ALL of the steps to building this computer.

2) what should i use for the master and slave with my hard drive and cd drives.

3) any advice or things you think i should know


-nuB steve l0l
__________________

SteveGTA is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 10:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 240
Default

1) The steps should be in your motherboard manual, if not look around online. FOLLOW THEM CAREFULLY!

2) Use the faster hard drive (interface and/or rpm, buffer size) as the master, make sure you set the the hard drive as a master and not the cd-rom. Otherwise, if you have the cd-rom set as a master it won't boot correctly.

3) Use static straps, make sure you mount the board properly (If not done properly you can fry your board.). Be extremely careful when installing the CPU (DO NOT FORCE!).

I guess if you have any questions post on here or PM me.
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://photobucket.com\" target=\"_blank\"><img src=\"http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y107/The51/photoshops/1.jpg\" border=\"0\" alt=\"Image hosting by Photobucket\"></a>
The51 is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 10:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 592
Default

The motherboard manuals are completely self explanitory, but there are those occasions where the names in the manual don't match up with various parts. Especially when it comes to the Case LED's. But you can always get help here if you can't figure it out.

If your doing IDE Drives, put the hard drive on the Primary IDE slot, and the put the CD Drives on the seconday IDE slot, making sure that one of the drives jumpers is set to primary, and the other slave. Trust me, thats something I missed and it cost me hours the first time. The jumpers are located on the back of the drives, and its just a matter of moving a small plasic piece over the correct marked pins.

Here are a few tips to make things a bit easier. Install the CPU and Heatsink before you put it in the case. Then check all those little mounting screws that the motherboard mounts on, make sure their screwed in very tight. Its a pain in the butt when one of them comes loose and you have to take out the entire motherboard to screw it back it. Once you have the motherboard in and secure, mount all the drives in the case. I would then install all the cables n such. Like the USB, and the Case Lights before I put in the AGP and PCI cards. Occasionally though your going to have to move things around to get them to fit around all the cables. I don't know if this makes any sense but I tried, Good Luck
__________________
ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe
Intel Core i7 2600k
16GB DDR3 G-Skill Ripjaws
1TB 7200 Segagte Drive
eVGA GeForce 570
Samsung Blu-Ray Drive
Antec 850 Watt PSU
Windows 7 Professional
Blackmoore is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.