Now what?! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-06-2004, 12:28 PM   #11 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Its only a part of your computer, you can get a new one in your local computer store or on sites like www.newegg.com
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-06-2004, 05:22 PM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 50
Default

I get a screen that says excatly the following

*SELF TEST PATTERN*
R

G

B Moniter is Working

thats all I get no buttons work or anything at all...
__________________

Noknowledge is offline  
Old 11-06-2004, 05:34 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 45
Send a message via ICQ to ph@ntom Send a message via AIM to ph@ntom
Default

hm... it may be something else... are all of your fans working? all the devices?
Does windows load (u can tell by sound)
__________________
WooSUP Tech & Gaming Forums
Get some FREE WEBSPACE! on WooSUP.com
ph@ntom is offline  
Old 11-06-2004, 06:40 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 264
Send a message via AIM to Rizinc4
Default

You say that there is no picture, but there is a test? How can that be? Lol... Anyway, it sounds like your friend installed drivers, because that would run a test when windows booted for the first time with those new drivers. You should find out if he installed the newest drivers, and anything else he may have done.
Rizinc4 is offline  
Old 11-06-2004, 06:55 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 330
Default

i had this problem just a few days ago with a freind make sure that your RAM is all the way in the dimm/socket
Amd64Boy is offline  
Old 11-06-2004, 07:20 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 420
Send a message via AIM to silence782
Default

Could it be the monitor's refresh rate, or resolution is different on the home monitor than it is on the friend's monitor? Do you get a POST screen at all?
__________________
Still weak, I know, but getting better:
CPU: AMD AthlonXP 2500+
1.8GHz @ 333 FSB
512 DDR 2700
160 GB westerndigital hd
Dual booted with XP/Fedora Core 5
PCchips M848A mobo
nVIDIA GeForce MX 4000 video Card
Associate\'s Degree in Applied Computer Sciences.
A+ Certified for Hardware and Operating Systems. Network+ Certified
silence782 is offline  
Old 11-06-2004, 08:27 PM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

i believe its your power supply, same thing happened to me, your vid card aint getting the power requirements needed
jaksback is offline  
Old 11-07-2004, 01:44 AM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 582
Default

it is not some test with the drivers guys, it is what most monitors(new ones especially) do when there is no signal... it means the graphix card isnt sending a signal to the monitor at all, could be a broken graphix card, bad cable/monitor, or your mobo not sending data to your graphix card for some reason.. i ahd the same trouble but it was caused by a bad graphics card... try your old graphics card again, or call the computer guy to your house to try it.
__________________

The World is my trashcan and i intend to fill it...
Leonidas is offline  
Old 11-07-2004, 07:10 AM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 321
Default

my friend had this exact prob. he managed to solve it by changing some monitor settings. he brought his com over to his friends house and managed to change a display setting to solve d prob. if i'm not wrong, it was a power management prob. the monitor was receiving either too much or too lil power.
__________________

__________________
|New|Gaming|System|2|Be|:

AMD 64 bit 3500+ Socket 939
MSI K8N Neo 2 Plat. Socket 939 mobo
Corsair TWINX1024-3200 RAM
Nvidia GeForce 6800 GT Graphic Card
Altec Lansing 5051 Speaker system
Creative Sound Blaster live 7.1
Maxtor SATA 200Gb HDD
Plextor PX-712A DVD±R/RW Drive
Wired Mouse/Keyboard by Logitech
Samsung 795MB Flat Screen CRT
Raidmax Scorpio 868W Casing
Antec Truepower 430 or 480
Thermaltake (Pipe101) Heatsink
Thermaltake Street Fighter Fan
derfist is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.