Now what?! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-06-2004, 11:18 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 50
Default Now what?!

For my birthday I got a new moniter and a Radeon 9250 PCI for my emachines So I hook up the moniter everythings cool...So I install the video card had problems so I went to this guys house who works computers and everthing is workin perfect...So then I come home hook up the moniter and no picture but it worked over at his house whats the problem?
__________________

Noknowledge is offline  
Old 11-06-2004, 11:22 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 45
Send a message via ICQ to ph@ntom Send a message via AIM to ph@ntom
Default

is there just no picture or theres a thing on the monitor that says cable not connnected?
__________________

__________________
WooSUP Tech & Gaming Forums
Get some FREE WEBSPACE! on WooSUP.com
ph@ntom is offline  
Old 11-06-2004, 11:33 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 50
Default

yeah the video cable is pulged in along with everything else and it says...No Singnal Recived and it says self pattern test...Even my old moniter doesn't get a pciture
Noknowledge is offline  
Old 11-06-2004, 11:37 AM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Try another monitor.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-06-2004, 11:40 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 50
Default

I have tried 2 moniters...but the guys house I went to over there it works and over here at my house my 2000 and my new 2004 moniter don't work for my newly updated emachines..
Noknowledge is offline  
Old 11-06-2004, 11:42 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 45
Send a message via ICQ to ph@ntom Send a message via AIM to ph@ntom
Default

It may sound weird, but the problem might be in the PSU
I had the same problem a couple of times... theres a protector or something (in psu) which got burned due to an overload or just a fact turning the computer on and off... you can fix it (you really nead a computer technitian to do that) or get a new PSU....

I suggest you try another psu...
__________________
WooSUP Tech & Gaming Forums
Get some FREE WEBSPACE! on WooSUP.com
ph@ntom is offline  
Old 11-06-2004, 11:45 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 50
Default

what is a pcu? Where and how do I get it? Does that mean my computer is fried or broken?
Noknowledge is offline  
Old 11-06-2004, 11:46 AM   #8 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

PSu=Power supply unit
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-06-2004, 12:23 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 50
Default

Where and how do I get it? Does that mean my computer is fried or broken?
Noknowledge is offline  
Old 11-06-2004, 12:25 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 45
Send a message via ICQ to ph@ntom Send a message via AIM to ph@ntom
Default

Its a box that you plug your power cable in... your pc's just fine, the problem might be in that part... before going out and gettin a new one get either your old one or a friend's old one and try it out with your computer... (watch out for the wattage tho, its better if the old and the new one have the same)
If it works manage either to get a new PSU or fix your own...
__________________

__________________
WooSUP Tech & Gaming Forums
Get some FREE WEBSPACE! on WooSUP.com
ph@ntom is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.