Now Monitor Problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-10-2004, 07:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 821
Red face Now Monitor Problems

When I try to play Rise of Nations: Thrones & Patriots, the srceen blips black for a second and comes back to the desktop, only everythings really big. Then it starts loading, and after awhile, I click or press enter, and it comes back w/an error window:

"Rise of Nations cannot run with the monitor display mode set to 256 colors. Please change monitor display to 16 bit color or greater."

I goto where you change this (in the display properties) and do what it says...but it keeps doing the same thing over and over. Does anyone have any ideas on how I can solve this?
__________________

Regulus is offline  
Old 09-10-2004, 07:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Capricorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 372
Default

Any patches downloadable from the games publisher? They don't find out about a lot of incompatible graphics card issues until the game is released.
__________________

__________________
Case: Enermax CS-A106USB
P/S: OCZ OCZ700GXSSLI 700W
Motherboard: ASUS P5N32-E SLI
CPU: Intel E6300(idle 35C/load 39C)
RAM: OCZ Platinum Rev 2 DDR2 800 MHz (4 x 1GB) 4-4-4-15-T1 (2.1v)
Hard Disk: Seagate 2x250GB SATA ST3250620AS in RAID1
Monitor: Mitsubishi DP900u
Graphics: BFG GeForce 8800GT PCI-E
Sound: SoundBlaster X-Fi Fatal1ty
Speakers: Klipsch ProMedia v.2-400 4.1 speakers
Optical: LiteOn 16X DVD-ROM; Sony DRU-710A DVD-RW
Capricorn is offline  
Old 09-10-2004, 07:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

do you have the latest graphics card drivers?
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 09-10-2004, 08:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 821
Default

Well, when I go to check the grafix card, It looks as if it's not recognized roperly or something...I do believe that I need to download the proper WinXP compatible driver for my card. But the problem, I don't think has much, if not anything, to do with it...or could it? (Probably anothher stupid question)
Regulus is offline  
Old 09-10-2004, 10:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

graphics card drivers are very important to fix issues like this.
Get the latest drivers at www.ati.com
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 09-10-2004, 11:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 821
Default

Yeah...I figured that's what's been giving me ALL the problems that I've been up against (I hope *gulp*). Now, is there one driver for all or do I need to specify which card; I imagine that's it's the latter, right?
Regulus is offline  
Old 09-10-2004, 11:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 821
Default

Ok...here's where I am:

http://www.ati.com/support/drivers/w...13&submit.y=15

We have a dial-up connection, so it looks like I gotta download the stuff separately. I just need downloads 1-3, right?
Regulus is offline  
Old 09-10-2004, 11:26 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 821
Default

Oh yea, you better believe it!!! Thankfully, though, we are moving within the month, and my parents HATE dial-up. So we're getting cable, I guess.
Regulus is offline  
Old 09-10-2004, 11:32 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 821
Default

One last little quick question...I can save this directly to CD and pop it into my computer, right? I mean, once downloaded, it won't activate or anything, will it?
__________________

Regulus is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.